Women of the Bible

in #religion7 years ago (edited)

Over the past few weeks, I've read a few different posts about women and the scriptures.

And It gave me this idea to share verses that only focus on this subject from throughout the Bible, for all the women who share here on Steemit.

Image Link Miriam

And Miriam the prophetess, the sister of Aaron, took a timbrel in her hand; and all the women went out after her with timbrels and with dances.Exodus 15:20
Image Link Deborah!

Image Credit Deborah!

And Deborah, a prophetess, the wife of Lapidoth, she judged Israel at that time. Judges 4:4

Image Credit Huldah

So Hilkiah the priest, and Ahikam, and Achbor, and Shaphan, and Asahiah, went unto Huldah the prophetess, the wife of Shallum the son of Tikvah, the son of Harhas, keeper of the wardrobe; (now she dwelt in Jerusalem in the college;) and they communed with her. 2 Kings 22:14

And Hilkiah, and they that the king had appointed, went to Huldah the prophetess, the wife of Shallum the son of Tikvath, the son of Hasrah, keeper of the wardrobe; (now she dwelt in Jerusalem in the college:) and they spake to her to that effect. 2 Chronicles 34:22

Image Credit Noadiah

My God, think thou upon Tobiah and Sanballat according to these their works, and on the prophetess Noadiah, and the rest of the prophets, that would have put me in fear.
So the wall was finished in the twenty and fifth day of the month Elul, in fifty and two days. And it came to pass, that when all our enemies heard thereof, and all the heathen that were about us saw these things, they were much cast down in their own eyes: for they perceived that this work was wrought of our God. Nehemiah 6:14-16

Image Credit Dorcas

Now there was at Joppa a certain disciple named Tabitha, which by interpretation is called Dorcas: this woman was full of good works and almsdeeds which she did. Acts 9:36

Image Credit Daughters of Philip

And the next day we that were of Paul's company departed, and came unto Caesarea: and we entered into the house of Philip the evangelist, which was one of the seven; and abode with him. And the same man had four daughters, virgins, which did prophesy. Acts 21:8-9

Image Credit Laborers with Paul

I beseech Euodias, and beseech Syntyche, that they be of the same mind in the Lord.
And I intreat thee also, true yokefellow, help those women which laboured with me in the gospel, with Clement also, and with other my fellowlabourers, whose names are in the book of life. Philippians 4:2-3

Image Credit Phebe

I commend unto you Phebe our sister, which is a servant of the church which is at Cenchrea:
That ye receive her in the Lord, as becometh saints, and that ye assist her in whatsoever business she hath need of you: for she hath been a succourer of many, and of myself also. Romans 16:-2

Image Credit Priscilla & Aquila

Greet Priscilla and Aquila my helpers in Christ Jesus: Romans 16:3

(Note: "Helpers," is defined from that verse as: "1) a companion in work, fellow worker.")

Image Credit The Elect Lady

The elder unto the elect lady and her children, whom I love in the truth; and not I only, but also all they that have known the truth;2 John 1:1

There are many more women within the scriptures, as you all know, these are just a small example.
Jesus was so kind and loving toward all.

Image Credit Mary Listening to Jesus

And she had a sister called Mary, which also sat at Jesus' feet, and heard his word. Luke 10:39


Image Link Hem of His Robe

For she said within herself, If I may but touch his garment, I shall be whole. Matthew 9:21

The above verse sums this up perfectly, "If I may but touch his garment, I shall be whole."

Sort:  

What a great post livingwaters! It's so true, women have played a pivotal role in God's plans from the early female disciples who followed and supported Jesus and the Apostles and all the way back to Pharoah's daughter who responded to the cry of little Moses. Rahab, an ancestor of Jesus, who protected the spies at Jericho and tied the scarlet cord in the window. Then of course there is Mary, Jesus's mother because of whose loving obedience we are all blessed.
This topic is a whole study in and of itself! Maybe you can make this a series. I'm always amazed by how many different ways and angles there are to keep learning from the Scripture.

Amen @eyeofthestorm! It is an entire study to cover each woman that God used and blessed throughout the scriptures, just the accounts that you mentioned could be their own studies.
I hear you about the angels to keep learning from the scriptures. There's always more, and one can start on one subject, and the study will end on a completely different subject. I do that often.
I was going through some of my study folders on my computer, and I also have many that I haven't completed. I think a lot of times, those I have stored, turned into another subject as I was studying through it.
I hope you are having a very blessed week.

Thank you so much for putting this together! <3

Simple and powerful message Sister. Way 2 Go!! #FateNews

Thank you! I enjoyed putting it together. God bless!

I wonderful post! While it is true that most of the Scriptures, if not all, were scribed by men, there were also a great many prophetesses who led the Israelites into truth. Some of them made it into the Bible, others did not. But the Maker made man and then women out of the man's side - he made them equal and yet complimentary. The Creator does not discriminate in his attention to either, and has given his word to all.

Amen beltshazzar! Wonderfully put!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62975.56
ETH 3112.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87