Why I left religion 13 years ago!

in #religion7 years ago (edited)

First and foremost, let me start by saying I am spiritual, not religious, there is a significant difference. I do not go to church as I am strongly opposed to institutionalized religion, meaning I view church is a business (or a means to control people), rather than a place of worship. Personally, I believe religion was created as a means to keep people in line by instilling fear of eternal damnation for sins committed in this lifetime. Religions throughout the years have doctored their teachings to suite their subjective agendas. Millions of deaths have been the direct result of religious confrontation (mainly between Muslims and Christians). While Christianity has progressed into a rather docile religion over the centuries, Islam still remains a volatile,hateful, and intolerant religion consisted of a bunch of primordial followers.
Another critical issue with religion is that it is purely subjective. The whole congregation from the pulpit to the laymen, has taken the teachings and/or scriptures that benefit their way of living, while ignoring everything that does not benefit them. Why would I want to attend a place of worship full of hypocrites? While there are some honest/good church members who genuinely follow the faith and try to uphold it in every part of their life, an overwhelming majority are more corrupt than someone who doesn't believe in God or even go to church. One might say you're going to church, for God, not the people. It's for that reason I'm spiritual; my relationship is between myself and the highest power above, not between me and an institutionalized establishment. That personal relationship between ones' self and God can be anywhere, at any point, at any time.
Lastly, I have a huge problem with religious scriptures. Although the writings in the bible are alleged to be inspired by God, they were written by man. There are so many contradictions in the Bible that it is almost comical. Growing up, I was taught that God is one of love and compassion; that we can be redeemed at any point in our life regardless of what sins we have committed. Well, in the Bible, Jesus eradicated his enemies (evil doers). A few examples are the Red Sea, Sodom and Gomorrah ( where sex and homosexuality was rampant), and the Plague of the Firstborn where Jesus killed every firstborn Egyptian to persuade the Pharaoh to release enslaved Israelite's. Were these people past the point of redemption? I guess not all of us are redeemable. This signifies that anger, and rage against one's enemies (or evil doers), are a perfectly healthy part of human emotion defies what the Church tries to portray God's image as. After all, weren't we made in God's image? Let me reaffirm that the bible has plenty of passages filled with love, but I am simply pointing out some contradictions which is why I questioned religion and stopped going to Church 13 years ago. As for the Quran, it is an an absolute joke that teaches only hate, manipulation, and eradicating all infidels (anyone who does not convert to their faith). maxresdefault.jpg

Sort:  

We do have the same views regarding institutionalized dogmas. I don't know I just felt like emotionally manipulated whenever I involve one. also I started questioning every one of them. I just believe that spirituality is about making your own experience rather than following someone else's . But I have learn to respect them and understand where they're coming. I just thought that they are necessary.

you're correct, I will add more to my blog later but I have some errands to run right now.

Congratulations @killerclown! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58510.90
ETH 2522.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36