The Rabbi's Odd Confessions

in #religion7 years ago

Let me tell you a bit about myself, a newcomer to Steemit.

First, the non-controversial and unambiguously approved things:

I am a 65 year old Grandpa who has been happily married to the same woman for 46 years. I have a two masters degrees and a doctorate and play jazz and classical flute. I just signed on to a regular gig at the local hospital to ease people's anxieties. I love to play periodic restaurant gigs and music with the bands in our synagogue. My wife and I have four grown children, all happily married. Two of our sons fell in love with and married delightful Jewish women who happen to be eldest and youngest sisters from the same family. So far, we enjoy six grand kiddies; I secretly hope for ten, at least. But, remembering all the birthdays will be tough.

I work out at the gym across the street regularly and take a plethora of vitamin pills to stay healthy. I would guess that few men my age can do as many push-ups as I. Not boasting; just the reality.

I have served as Senior Rabbi of our synagogue in a Boston suburb for 36 years and serve as President of a rabbinical training institute. I hope to go emeritus in the shul over the next five years or so. We have a young man on staff who would be an ideal replacement for me.

Now for the disorienting part.

I am legally blind. That is, my corrected vision is 20/200. Thus, what a properly-sighted person sees at 200 feet, I see at 20. No driving for me. Thank God for Boston's abundant public transportation. The rare combination of eyesight issues includes total colorblindness - not partial, like many guys, but total. Additionally, I have acute photophobia which demands that I wear two sets of sunglasses simultaneously when outdoors.

Perhaps as a kid you felt marginalized because of some physical challenge. You know how disorienting an experience this was: "dis-orienting" in the sense of forcing you from the normal flow of life among others and sometimes leaving you with the feeling of relational squishiness - that sense that you don't really know if and how you belong.

Now for the part which for you (not for me) can be most disorienting.

We are religiously "out there." We are Messianic Jews. Our home has a kosher kitchen - but we believe in Jesus. I officiate at Bar and Bat Mitzvahs, but am convinced this unique first century Jew was and is the Messiah. We sit down to Shabbat meals often with family and congregants on Friday evenings. But the next morning at services we read and study Torah and Besorah (the New Testament).

Feel disoriented?

Frankly, there is nothing particularly unusual about people believing in Jesus. This happens all the time. But, a serious Jew...a bar mitzvah boy...who cares about on-the-ground Jewish issues? How can such a thing be?

This is my first post on Steemit. I will be adding thoughts from time to time on issues ranging from the esoteric to the nitty-gritty-family-relational; from the realm of Jewish-Christian distinctions and overlap, to my reflections on the political atmosphere lurking behind the 1960's Rocky and Bulwinkle Show.

Until next time...Shalom!
from the Jazz Rabbi

Sort:  

Congratulations @jazzrabbi! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @jazzrabbi! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @jazzrabbi! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58211.91
ETH 2476.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38