CHRISTIANS NOWADAYS

in #religion6 years ago (edited)

Six-Things-I-Wish-Christians-Would-Stop-Doing.jpg

As a little boy growing up, my parents do always say to me, have nothing to do
with bad friends, avoid smoking and drinking”; still growing as a Catholic, I’ve seen
things interesting enough to stir up a relationship between my pen and paper.
Having nothing to do with the people we see as ”bad”, will only introduce a gap
between yourself and another individual; and besides, being judgmental isn’t part of the
skills of a Christian. Okay , let’s look at it this way, that if you see a fellow person as a
bad personality and want nothing to do with such person, there’s no way you’re going
to change that individual nor even live in peace with that individual.

As a legionary, I was taught that “the secret of influence is love”. So how do
we intend showing our neighbor or those we term “bad“, a glimpse of love, when we
avoid and ignore them all in the name of society. It would be quite reasonable to sit
back, re-think, re-evaluate and change the rather segregated mindset.
It’s obvious that some are weak in spirit while some are strong, but the bible
tells us in Romans 15:1 saying “we who are strong ought to bear with the failings of
the weak and not to please ourselves”. The society is corrupt (even a child knows
that), and yes, I am not exempted; let’s be realistic to ourselves, be open-minded,
avoid judging another fellow’s actions, live freely and be productive with a transparent
lifestyle, trust me, it won’t hurt.

I’m human, I believe in the word of God, though sometimes my actions say
otherwise. Let me share this, I’ve got friends who derive pleasure in flirting with girls,
friends that do smoke and others that drink extensively; although by grace, I’m not a
subscriber to any of the above, I still don’t think I’m in any way better than they are.
I’m not saying these things are right, but you never know who makes it to heaven, till
you get there yourself. Someone once said “the hardest people to reach with the love
of God are not the bad ones, they know they are bad and they have no defense; they
are the self-righteous people”. So, to the self-righteous, those who preach the gospel
but practice otherwise, those who hate sin so much that they in turn hate their
brethren suffering it; the real enemy is the devil and not your neighbor. The race to
heaven is a personal race though, but imagine how awkward it will be, if you were to be
the only one in heaven, really awkward, right? , good thing we can do something about
it.

Most people think racism exist only because the white man proves superior to
the black man; I would like to draw your attention to we Christians, indulging in racism
more than those in the secular world proving superior to other people simply because
we think we’re too righteous to fall from whatever height of grace we think we are.
Even the bible said “let he that thinketh he stand take heed lest he fall”; so no one is
above temptation and mistakes, that’s why we should be there for one another, look
beyond our mistakes and live like the Christians we ought to be. Then and only then will
we change the society, even without trying and finally get to meet at the feet of the
LORD when its time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64189.84
ETH 2796.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65