Statist priorities

in #religion5 years ago

Image

I've pointed out that when the religion of Statism conflicts with other religions, people generally defer to Statism, allowing other religious beliefs to be given the scraps; to be pushed down the stack of priorities.

This photo, which I took at a nearby church, illustrates this perfectly. Oddly, for this area, the wind was calm so the flags aren't as visible as I wish. But that's a US federal flag-- Holy Pole Quilt-- placed on a pole above the Christian flag.

That's right, they give Holy Pole Quilt a position of superiority over their other beliefs. They are honoring Statism over Christianity.

Yes, I realize the old (and retired) "US flag codes" require this placement. So?

Why are they even flying Holy Pole Quilt at a church at all? What does that have to do with their primary mission?

When I was a kid I heard people talk about the brave Christians in the USSR and China who risked death by putting Christianity above the wishes and opinions ("laws") of the State. Yet Americans can't bother to do the same in a minor way when the US feral government is highly unlikely to murder them for doing so? If you won't stand up when it's easy, how can you believe you will when the stakes are high?

They need to get their priorities straight and choose who or what they are going to worship. Or, just give up.

Thank you for helping support KentforLiberty.com.
I hope I add something you find valuable enough to support. If so... Donations and subscriptions are always appreciated!

Find me on Patreon

Sort:  

Generally, but not always. Jehovah's Witnesses and the NIFB are notable exceptions, in that they encourage their congregations to break the law when it conflicts with their doctrine. This is distinctly different from Scientology, where the church itself is interfering with the government's investigation into it.

"You can't fight religion with religion, but you can fight it with reason." - Aron Ra

Too bad Aron Ra doesn't use reason himself, where his religion is concerned.
Aron Ra is an atelatheist-- he only believes in one god: the god of government.

I know, I hate having to cite a source that undermines the point I'm trying to make, but I don't generally care about the source of the quote when evaluating its validity. I've found perfectly valid quotes from fictional characters and gotten criticised for that, too.

You probably already know this, but Aron is part of the "YouTube Skeptic Community," which imploded in 2016 and has become mired in hypocrisy. The reflexive dismissal of BitChute as a "Nazi hug-box" by many "skeptic" YouTubers, for instance, irritates me to no end.

If a quote is right (and that one is), it's right no matter who said it. So, I'm not criticizing the quote-- or you sharing it-- just the hypocrisy of Aron Ra in this one matter.

I pointed his religion out to him once and he and his fanboys had a meltdown. All sorts of excuses as to why Statism isn't a religion and why government isn't their god. And none of it held water.

Yeah, I should have probably eased into the topic. I've also directly tweeted back to Richard Dawkins about his hypocrisy in this matter. He ignores me (and has probably blocked me).

I like them both a lot when they are consistent. But bring in the State and their reason goes right out the window. It's tragic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54391.40
ETH 2283.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29