Theology of Suffering

in #religion6 years ago

Everyone wants to ask the fundamental question why does suffering exist in this world. I asked this question many times in my life. Like for example when my uncle died of cancer in the autumn of 2016. During that period of tragedy I was angry and depressed and wanted to ask why, even though I already new the answer which is that we live in a fallen and broken world. However I often wonder why God would permit suffering. After years of studying and going through suffering myself I've reach several answers.

The first answer that I came too is that God allows suffering in order to work out good in the world and in his kids (Romans 8:28). I will use my life as an example in order to explain my point. For example though out 2014 to 2015 I held many different jobs however none of them worked out. When I was let go from my last job in fall 2015 I felt God leading me to go back to school and pursue my bachelor's degree in Business Administration. Now two years later looking back I realized that those failures and setbacks was God leading me into something better. Since moving to Greensboro to go to school, I now have deep meaningful friendships and better prospects for employment.

The second answer is that God uses suffering to conform believers to to the image of Christ (James 1:2-4). As believers we can be dense at times when it comes to focusing on what matters most in life. Which is Christ and the advancement of his kingdom. God at times will permit suffering in our lives in order to wake us up to what truly matters which is things that have eternal value. When we lose things that are temporary in this world then we have the opportunity to see those things at best temporary gifts meant to point to the giver of those gifts. Then suffering also leads us to see sin doesn't bring true satisfaction but leaves us wanting more.

The last reason that I've come to is that God allows suffering to call us to repentance and to himself (Isaiah 48:10). I will admit this is not the most popular reason but it is a reason. The reason he uses suffering for this purpose is because like stated previously we human beings are naturally dense and let's face it selfish. We human beings have committed horrendous acts to ourselves and others and God will sometimes use suffering in order to warn us (nonbelievers) and form us (believers). Ultimately to conclude from all this is that God is sovereign he use suffering in order to fulfill his good purposes. I'll show a series below to give you more depth on this subject.

http://www.downtowncornerstone.org/category/media/sermons/job/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 70287.75
ETH 3955.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66