You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Believe in God

in #religion8 years ago

I did not say God has no form, function, or identity. I said we call him by many titles (we don't have an actual name that is not a title). His function is to create life and help his children (us) to progress into eternity. Maybe I'll make a future post on that.

His form is more difficult to define. How would a cell of your body define your body, when it could only see a few millimeters around itself? I've heard it said that if you can fit God in your mind, you have made Him too small. Most people, belivers and non-belivers alike, know so little about what God is really like and yet like to argue and point fingers of condemnation to anyone who disagrees. I'd rather build on common ground and learn as much as I can about all view points.

I have no problem anthropomorphizing God. Maybe we have emotions, intelligence, and passions because He created us to be like Him.

Thanks for your reply! It's great to start conversations.

Sort:  

Oh sorry, I didn't mean to imply that you were saying God has no form. I was trying to outline two differing perspectives.

I am also in no way saying that if an omnipotent being were to exist that we'd have any means of comprehending such a being. On the contrary, something which is infinite couldn't possibly be understood by creatures with finite cognitive capabilities.

My point was that emotions are imperfect and therefore any being which can be affected by emotions couldn't be considered perfect. Maybe we'll have to agree to disagree on this point?

No problem, glad to learn about and discuss different points of view. :)

Unless you consider the fact that, unlike what Vulcans may tell you, emotions are good and part of the Design. The Lord only gets angry after putting up with stuff a very long time.

God, who is perfect, can handle His emotions perfectly. His biggest emotion is LOVE. To say emotions are bad, I think, takes a little of the devine out of us. It is one of our purposes in life to learn to use our emotions to benefit others. Overcome the natural man and become more like God.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51460.37
ETH 2243.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.01