Sort:  

Buddhism denies both Brahman and Atman concepts in ancient Hindu literature, and posits Śūnyatā (emptiness, voidness) and Anatta (non-Self, no soul) concept instead. The word Brahma is standardly used in Buddhist suttas to mean "best", or "supreme".

wow, cool... thanks for the explanation, that is super fascinating. I love the idea of emptiness, I was super into Zen Buddhism five years ago, it was the first religion/spiritual approach that I got into after finishing college. I really like the idea of emptiness and the void, I think most of the stuff I learned from Zen was from reading and listening to Allan Watts so I never got a super formal education on it, although I consider Allan Watts to be super educated, as far as I know of course. Thanks for the clarification. Please keep sharing this information :)

Allan Watts was a great man and teacher. As an Anglo Asian born and brought up predominantly in the West, I'm so grateful to Allan Watts in helping me to somewhat understand my ancestral mindset!

wow, that is so cool that you were born into that culture. Do you currently live in Asia? I bet the approach to Buddhism there is way different than it is in the West.

I have done some Vipassana meditation retreats in the past but I think reaching "void" takes a lifetime

its illusory, void implies non-void or substance, you must try to free yourself form the search and realise you're it man. light can not exist without darkness. black also white. life is technicoloured all we can do is dance within the ambiguity.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68976.16
ETH 3307.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67