The Bible. Let's explore the reasons for reading it and what that might mean to each one of us...

in #religion7 years ago

bible.jpeg
I was raised in a Christian family and as a result, Bible readings were not an uncommon practice at our home. When I was in Sunday School, I had the opportunity to learn the names and order of the Books of the Bible I can honestly say that it was a very positive experience for me.
There came a point, though, when I realized that if I were to continue reading the Bible, I needed to do so for the right reasons in order to get the right result. In other words, Bible reading no longer needed to be about looking good in front of my Sunday School class or anything of that nature. As a teenager, I began to realized that the Bible had to be more than just a book that I was "supposed" to read and more of a book that I needed to read....To empower my life's journey.
Now that I'm almost 40, I have come to the full conclusion that reading the Bible truly brings peace to my life as I read the Words of Jesus Christ and the apostles.
Though too many "religious" people explore the Biblical Scriptures for vain glory and through self-righteous motivation, let us know prevent us from exploring it for all of the right reasons. There will always be hypocrasy and double-standards. There will aways be people that have a form of Christianity but do not truly reflect it. But when we can come to the point in our lives to where we get real with God and real with ourselves, then I believe we will enter into that spiritual phase of growth and leads us to green pastures and still waters.
God Bless you all!

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 03. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $0.18 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 03 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57497.94
ETH 3099.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32