My problem.. over-reacting and four types of personalities

in #religion7 years ago (edited)


Just a quick post about myself. I just posted about the new year being about self-reflection. 

Not to get too religy I always go to Ethics of Our Fathers

I know I have this problem: Being quick tempered and over-reacting

It's VERY hard as it's almost like an impulsive reaction. But it's part of self reflection and I some how have to work on it.

According to Ethics of Our fathers (Pirkei Avot) There are four types of temperaments. 

1. One who is easily angered and  easily appeased; his virtue cancels his flaw. 

2. One who it is difficult  to anger and difficult to appease; his flaw cancels his virtue. 

3. One whom  it is difficult to anger and is easy to appeased; he is righteous. 

4. One who is easily angered and is difficult to appease; not a good person

Pirkei Avot 5:11

Who is wise? One who learns from every man. As is stated (Psalms 119:99): "From all my teachers I have grown wise, for Your testimonials are my meditation."


Who is strong? One who overpowers his inclinations. As is stated  (Proverbs 16:32), "Better one who is slow to anger than one with might,  one who rules his spirit than the captor of a city."


Who is rich? One who is satisfied with his lot. As is stated  (Psalms 128:2): "If you eat of toil of your hands, fortunate are you,  and good is to you"; "fortunate are you" in this world, "and good is to  you" in the World to Come.


Who is honorable? One who honors his fellows. As is stated (I Samuel 2:30): "For to those who honor me, I accord honor; those who scorn me shall be demeaned."  

Pirkei Avot 4:1

Sorry if this is too religy for some; but IT IS RELEVANT to all. I thank @steemcleaners and those put in charge to moderate the channel to teach ME about myself and flaws. 

With great humility I wish you all a good year full of blessing, health, wealth, prosperity, success and good fortune.

I am definitely the first category (#1) on the list

Sort:  

I'd say I'm type #2... Hmm...

If I feel like I'm the first type, couldn't it really be my yetzer hara trying to trick me, telling me I'm type 1, but I'm really type 4?

It's so hard to forgive people when there are still "lose ends" that remain un-discussed. Even though I say I forgive them, and actually want to, I'm not sure if I really do...

well I believe you don’t have to forgive if they never asked for forgiveness! At least that’s my understanding. Should you hold a grudge? Hmmm that’s kinda the issue.

Hmm. Not many people ask for forgiveness...

And that's a good question. Is what I feel holding a grudge? It doesn't feel like it, maybe cause there is no anger around those old items, but they are still "there" in existence.

My guess is that these thoughts are the very act of permuting the histories. As in, this is all we can do...

B"H! I'm sure you're #3 on your good days! May you make them more frequent!

Being quick tempered and over-reacting

welcome to the club!

Ditto :)

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Congratulations @bearbear613! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by bb613 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 1.04 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 65292.16
ETH 2651.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85