Just got married

in #relationships7 years ago (edited)

Didn't think it was ever going to happen or figured if it did happen a blockchain would record it as opposed to a nation, but things don't always turn out as planned and for some time I've given up on things being exactly the way I want them to be.

We didn't really have a ceremony, we can't really afford it right now and the only way for me not to have to exit the country every couple of months was to marry. I could have just returned to my country of residence for a month and then came back, but my now wife wasn't into that idea. I told her we could have a party later on but her mother wasn't feeling that, luckily she signed as a witness anyways.

These people still use Facebook so the rest of the family found out through a status update and it seems they didn't really appreciate it. The grandmother even referred to me as an abomination, I hadn't heard that word being used to refer to me in some time and we haven't met face to face. What's funny is that this is the most heterosexual marriage she's probably ever going to get as a trans woman, being married to a trans man. There's nothing straighter than that, it's straight no matter how you look at it not that I am particularly interested in complying with heterosexuality.

We bought Thai food for everyone, there's still some in the fridge and went about our day as usual. I actually liked marrying on the low, never been one to crave much attention.

The lawyer who officiated didn't charge any fees, said she was doing it for a friend which gave me a little hope for humanity.

Now I just gotta find a way to tell my mother who is overseas, that should be fun...not. At least she understands that there is no controlling me with screaming and since there's distance between us and I don't get financial help from her then she kinda has to be nice to be able to keep me around. We've been having some issues because she wants more regular contact but she can't understand her unwelcoming behaviors yet. This time I'm going to need her though, need a copy of my birth certificate for the pile of forms we have to deliver to the government so I can get a Green Card.

How do I feel about becoming a US resident? It's a little scary to be honest. I know what the rules are where I come from, but there are laws and permits for everything here, I'm kind of afraid to get in trouble without realizing what I am doing wrong.

I also don't like the idea of paying taxes, never truly owning anything. If I were to ever make a $15k post on Steemit I wouldn't even be able to buy some refuge and have the sense of security that it can never be taken from me. I've been homeless before so I am very concerned with refuge and that's something Americans don't really have, even if they spent 1 million trying to secure it, if you don't pay the taxes then you're out.

I also have to get vaccinated which I am really not looking forward to with all the discussion about vaccine injuries. I don't really think anything would happen to me because I'm not a child anymore and I grew up in the third world, after experiencing the hygiene conditions there I'd be surprised if Ebola can touch me but you never know. I just hope that they believe me about the two shots I've already taken from the list of like 15 shots I need to get, I don't think I'm going to be able to get proof of the few vaccines I have been given.

So far we've only spent $93 on the marriage license, but it's about $2000 for the rest of the forms and the minute I submit the first one I will not be allowed to just leave the country...don't know how I feel about this yet.

On the brighter side of things despite the grandmother calling me an abomination and the father calling me a camel jockey because I look Arab, it seems I'm the partner they've appreciated most so this whole modern family thing may not be so bad after all.

Sort:  

thN31K9V4O.jpg

Congratulations! I wish you both happiness and joy.

Hopefully, the families will come around. I have never been a fan of formal weddings. Too often the wedding hoopla gets more attention than the relationship.

Wow.
"Abomination Camel Jockey"
I give you mad props for loving your honey sweetie darling unconditionally. If that doesn't prove it, nothing will.

And now you cannot escape! HAH!

Congratulations on being in Real. True. Love.

You give me hope for the world.
You both do.

I will admit the camel jockey thing was a little funny and nobody has said anything to my face, but I really dislike that abomination word.

Thanks for the good wishes!

Well ... we have a beautiful fluffy cat that wanders around our house, but her fur is that word.
So we have shortened it to "bonation" ─ pronounced :: bon-nay-shun :: because it's not her fault she's beautiful and fluffy.

It's not your fault your beautiful.
I don't know if you're fluffy.

Translate their garbage to the highest possible power, friend. It's the best we can do with 'em.
I call it emotional composting.

Congratulations!!!! May your marriage be blessed with much love and joy.

Here's to the next chapter of life! Onward and upward.

Congratulations!

Congratulation

That's absolutely awesome! Congrats!! :D

Still sorry to hear about the family reactions. Hopefully they come around, but you've gotta do you....and now you get to do that with what sounds like a great partner!

Oh this is a really nice post to find. Congrats and best wishes :) - is it ok to share/resteem?

Sure thing! Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94