Skinned

in #relationships8 years ago

If I were innocuous
a potato maybe
would you harvest
my eyes or respect
my desire to grow
in my own time
in my own space
leave me to the
worms who can
be trusted to
ventilate my soil
allowing me the
breath you refuse?

But I am beautiful
strong, fierce, loved,
wanted, above-ground,
visible, vibrant and
when you see me
you see what you want
for yourself no matter
if you must suck blood
and bones, leave
me only a skin
you can slip on
to pretend you are
something better.

image via pixabay.com

Sort:  

Packed with a lot of themes and meanings, very cool

Thank you for reading and commenting!

Sometimes I need visual inspiration. Now I also need swords.

Wow. That was powerful!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66902.20
ETH 3248.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64