Setbacks? Going Backwards To Go Forwards? Tough Love? A Place For Force In A Loving Relationship?

in #relationships7 years ago


As I sit here at 5am and watch the sun rise, my thoughts are drifting over the events of yesterday afternoon. My regular readers will know that my wife and I are breaking in our horse at the moment and we've been met with success after success. This is largely due to two features of our training technique, pace and respect.

Firstly, we've chosen a very slow pace. In fact we've owned (bad word - perhaps known is more symbolic of our relationship) this horse for about a year now and are still working with her on getting the basics covered well. "Normal" practice is to have them broken within weeks; something not good for the horse for the rest of their life.

Secondly, respect. We don't use bits or other pain or fear compliance tools or methods and have achieved a lovely relationship where our horse will let us lay next to her and sleep with her for example. Pretty rare and an indication of trust. Here is a recent example.


Yesterday's training saw me step out of my comfort zone however.


Reference

You see, yesterday we did a lunging session. Lunging is the act of asking the horse to walk, trot or canter around a person in a circle, usually on a long lunge rope. It is a technique used to refine commands (or requests) to vary speed and an exercise in getting the attention of the animal in order to control their distraction and focus them on working together.

Our Mare has not taken to this quickly at all. She's young and like any youngster, she'll test the boundaries of the relationship. Surprisingly, to do this they employ techniques that human teenagers might. They'll look away; literally in the opposite direction to where you're standing if they want to ignore you, they'll "throw tantrums" and gallop away, lunge rope in tow if they asked to do something that they're not in the mood for. They'll even kick, buck and generally carry on in protest.

Yesterday our mare did all of these things.

I have a zero tolerance for that behaviour when in my immediate vicinity. She was not malicious about it because if she'd wanted to kick me in the guts, she would have. Horses much quicker than we are and with longer and stronger limbs, you're a passenger when it comes to aggression. Still, big movements in proximity to humans is behaviour that needs to be reigned in.

In our typically loving way, we went and fetched her and returned her to the training session. It's important to show that throwing a tantrum is not behaviour that will result in getting out of chores, a valid parenting technique also.

After two more occurrences of this behaviour, including her positioning herself into our personal space at the inside of the circle in order to use her size to put us off task, it was clear that our respectful relationship was not at that moment respectful.

This is one of the problems with showing love and care from birth. The recipient has no idea of how that treatment compares to anything else. Many horses suffer horribly at the hands of humans, so when they're treated the way we treat horses, they're over the mood. They're so appreciative because they've seen how hard life can be. For our mare who's only known kindness, being asked to walk could have been the worst thing ever.

What to do?


Reference

Well unfortunately, respect is a two way street and sometimes, as was the case yesterday and as much as it pains me, it was time to mirror behaviour. Love is a reciprocal arrangement. Each party needs to be aware of the influence that their behaviour has on the other. I reached for the lunge whip which is a tool that is used to extend the arm and issue direction. It also makes a bit whipping sounds that is good for getting attention.

Having never experienced a whip before, she didn't respond at all to the sight of it. Our older boy runs for the hills when he sees it as he's been abused at the hands of impotent whip yielding humans before.

On the next attempt when she muscled in on my space and galloped off and performed other large violent movements in my vicinity, I cracked (or really just swiped) the whip making gentle contact with her and making a bit sound in the process. It didn't hurt her, but it snapped her into attention. She was confused. "Why is my behaviour being met with difficulty and resistance?" You could see it in her eyes.

My intention was not to hurt her or to scare her but to signal that her behaviour was not acceptable in our relationship. This is something I allow her to communicate to me too. When I'm working with her or touching her or whatever, if she shows me signs that she's not happy with what I'm doing (pinned ears, wide eyes, particular movements of the body) I'll allow her space. Not because I think what I'm doing is unreasonable, but because she has indicated that she doesn't find it acceptable. It's a give and take.

Amazingly, the confusion, surprises (and sadly possibly a little fear due to the unknown) saw her look at me, focus her attention on me. With my hand on fire, throbbing with the pain of rope burn that one of her previous gallops and caused me, we proceeded to ask her to simply respond to a verbal request to lunge (just simply walk) around me in a circle. This is an important skill. Without the ability to have a horse listen to you, be aware of where you are and respond to verbal requests, they can be fatal animals to be around, even if unintentional.

After she galloped off, she was so excited. Veins popped from her whole body, her huge nostrils were flared to allow the massive volume of air that she needed to be sucked in and expelled at such a fast rate. Her eyes were wide open. She looked capable of and willing to run us over where we stood. Fear on my part would not have sent the right message however. We proceeded, collected her again and calmly continued with the session.

Her stunningly beautiful 600kg body started to walk and then trot around me in a circle, just like a pro lunger would do. A far cry from the stubborn lack of respect displayed earlier. As soon as she did this, I called her over and gave her lots of verbal praise and lots of rubs on the head which she loves. She dipped her head to the ground in a submissive manner that allows me to rub her even more.

th.jpg
Reference
I use this image because it's cute and indicates a point. I don't however condone the use of the bit as pictured.

I don't think it was asking much to have the respect to focus on me, respond to requests when we're working together and, importantly, to not move in a fashion that puts my life in peril when we're standing so close. These are important lessons but I'm the type of character that doesn't like introducing measured resistance into a caring relationship.

I was so happy to see her respond to us finishing the session however. When a horse is released from their halter, you get to see how they really feel. When freed, they can either run as far from you as possible if you've been a horror to be around, or they can choose to hang around you because you're someone they want to be with. In her case, it was the latter!

I'm so proud of her!

Despite me contacting her with the whip,making whipping noises in the air and using a tone of voice that projected power and disapproval, she obviously had a respect for me. Perhaps even a greater respect for me having met her behaviour with force than if I'd sat there singing "Kumbaya my lord and burning incense.

We made sure we finished on a good note. She calmly (and importantly voluntarily) walked back to the house bad with us and we enjoyed feeding both of the horses some carrots after the work they'd both done.

It's so difficult to know where is the correct place to be on the kindness vs force spectrum. I do think there's a place for discipline and setting boundaries regarding acceptable behaviour in a relationship, especially a relationship with an animal capable of killing or maiming in an instant with the smallest of effort.

I'm proud of her for taking my escalation so well and I feel that in the long term, it will have built a better and more mutually respectful relationship between us. My goodness, it's damn awful having to do it however. I'm left with mixed feeling about it but she's shown every indication that she respects it. In fact that's how horses view the world. Horse herd behaviour is all about hierarchy, muscle and compliance, so in a way the placid love we show is out of character for them. Still, they adapt very well.

I both can't wait to work with her again and fear a major injury at the same time. The joys of horse training! I tell you tho, when you can be as intimate and close to such huge animals as we are, laying on the ground sleeping with them or sitting on them bare back as they graze, even having them rest their head in your lap for comfort like a cat would, it's all so very worth it!

Well the sun is well and truly up now so it's time for work! Thanks for reading and I wish you all fortune in your relationships, animal or otherwise!

Sort:  

YAAAYYY I found someone posting about working with horses in a manner I agree with!!! How old is your horse now and when you got her? I'll be checking out the rest of your posts on this with much excitement! This experience you are sharing is valuable. Much appreciation for this post <3

Hi @wisewoof, my apologies for taking so long to reply to your lovely comment. Nayyerah is now 5 and we've had her in our lives for a year now. Scarab, our gelding, is about 22. We didn't know him as a colt unfortunately but we have such a wonderful connection with him and we've known him for more than half his life. I'd be very happy to spread the idea of compassionate (what I call existential) horsemanship.

Really, the rewards are beyond description. Being aware of how the horse thinks and feels means you get much more out of them and they're willing to give it too. It's a win win. Our horses are so keen to be around us that it can sometimes be a hindrance in terms of getting vehicles in and out of the paddock, they want to be around us and block us sometimes! A great problem to have, we wouldn't have it any other way. Sometimes we've been potting plants or working outdoors and one of them will come up silently behind and just gently breath on your neck! They've very intimate animals but people seem to think they must only be treated with force.

I'll give you an advanced tip, I'm going to be posting up a video that my wife @beulinator and I just edited together earlier today. We decided to film Nayyerah on her 2nd lunge ever. It's just a short clip but it shows her doing what it took the force described in this post to achieve. There's a short clip of Scarab lunging at the end of it too. I'll hope to have it up in a few hours.

Thanks ever so much for your interest!

Oh no worries, I appreciate your replies! Sorry it's taken me awhile to respond. I feel like part of why working with horses in this manner as well as 'horse therapy' is rewarding is because you are reminded to maintain a state of calm-assertiveness which is beneficial to both human & horse. Haha that is a great problem to have, how lovely! It makes sense they would want to be around those that understand them. Those people that think they need to be treated with force are likely fearful and don't understand much of themselves either. My pleasure! I'm going to check that out now!! ^_^

calm-assertiveness is a great way to put it. When you don't have size on your size, you're forced to find better ways. Thinking the way they do opens up a whole new world. One thing we did is take a ride in our horse float ourselves to listen for all the rattles. you'd be surprised, it was so rattly it scared even me! I spent aged taping and strapping down everything that made a sound until it became very quite to travel in and, surprise surprise, they're happier getting into the float.

Great advice for both animal and human relationships. There has to be a give and take, and everyone has to feel safe.

I haven't trained a horse before and didn't (still don't) know the effort and work it takes to do so. You must have a lot of patience to take on that task. Hopefully the rewards are worth it! :)

Thanks kindly @themanwithnoname! Yes the parallels with what we know about functional relationships between humans are noticable. It does require patience but they do learn quickly and have great memories.

I am so impressed with the way you treat your animals! You treat them as my grandfather and my mother would. They never bridled their horses, halters only. Most of the time my mother rode bareback.

Thanks for the kind words @cecicastor. Yes what you describe is the true mark of horsemanship. When the horse wants to respect and respond to you then you have a connection.

I'm not sure I'd classify what you did as "force", more like...well as "gentle" discpline as you're likely to get with a horse, but I have odd ways of classifying things. Knowing exactly nothing about breaking in horses, I figure if there was another better way you could have dealt with that situation, I'm sure you'll do it if it crops up again. In the meantime as far asI can tell your other option was to let her get away with it so you didn't have to use force and that probably won't end well :)

goatsig

Thanks for the kind words @ryivhnn. I think you're right. We were put in a situation where some agro was required of us. As an addendum we made sure we did a follow up session the next afternoon and she was worlds better. Attentive, more willing to try, kept eye contact & managed to walk the circle in both directions this time with no bucking or kicking and only one run-off. Big improvement and no whipping needed! Importantly too she hung around us afterwards so we obviously didn't damage the relationship with our little "shock and awe" interventions yesterday. What a difference enforcing boundaries makes!

very good your publication, I completely agree with the rhythm and respect, I think it is the key to everything in life.

Thank you kindly @jose7esoj. It's amazing how fundamental some things are that they span generations and even species. We had a wonderful followup session with her the following afternoon and she was much more respectful and engaging, managing to achieve circles around us in both directions. Great win for us all, but it required a boundary to be enforced.

Welcome to Steemit by the way!

She's been showing you her boundaries throughout the training. This time she ran up against one of yours. The communication you've established so far will be a good foundation to build on. This time you needed to use a 'stronger word' to get the message safely across.

Hope your rope burn is healing. Those suck.

That's a really good way of putting it @aunt-deb. In fact sometimes I wonder whether we should have shown stronger opposition earlier. It's really hard to judge. I've noticed that sometimes when we are handling her especially around food, she'll harden and on one occasion even kick out. Totally unacceptable. .. in that instance she got a yell and a plastic hair brush thrown at her rump (only thing I had in me at the time).

It wouldn't have hurt her at all but delivered what was important, an immediate counteraction. What was even more stark in that instance was she got driven away from the "herd" (the two of us and our other horse). She wanted to rejoin and finish her meal and I blocked her for 30 seconds or so. It would have felt lonely, like being in the naughty corner. That's all the time it takes to make an impression and importantly I went straight back to handling her.

Tope burn still visually evident but the pain is gone ☺ thanks so much!

Yup - immediate counter-action is vital. That way they know exactly which behavior you're objecting to. Food always adds a powerful element. Sounds like you did the right thing as I'm guessing she has acted that way since. It IS hard to judge 'how much'. My rule of thumb is to try leave room to escalate the correction if need be. You're dodging hooves, I'm dodging fangs. Both can get dangerous very quickly, so the least amount of 'force' to get the desired response is the goal. Y'all are walking that fine line very well from what I can see!

Glad to hear the burn is better!

I find a really good gauge is how they respond when "let loose". When we take her halter off she always opts to hang around us. If there was any fear or confusion she'd likely bolt off. Its a good sign when they voluntarily stay with you afterwards.

How big are the fangs you're dodging? 😲

Very good point and makes sense!

As for fangs, you'd think it would be these guys (who have never even lifted a lip at me)...

But, no. It was this little shit who nailed me in the calf. Quick lil bugger. Once he figured out I was vending machine, he turned into 'velcro puppy'. Bribes are my best line of defense. Lol!

Oh such adorable pictures! What a cute gang you have!

Thanks! Yeah, some of them are real hams! These are some of my pet-sit clients. I'm going onto their turf, hence the bribes. It works... LOL!

Ah yes on their turf probably means their rules!

Interesting article, I love every part of it

@abujidan what does this have to do with my post? Many would flag you but I'll give you the benefit of the doubt as you may not know better. Can you contribute anything to this post?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54274.36
ETH 2279.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33