My friend got dumped. This was my advice.

in #relationships6 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2018-05-25 at 11.27.03 PM.png

So this week I got a text from a buddy of mine that lives in Chicago, that his girlfriend of a year broke his heart. What followed was a string of texts, and his drunken snap chats that just looked depressing. I understand that getting dumped sucks, and it is never fun to deal with, but in my experience there is a best way to deal with it. I can tell you 100% drinking isn't the best solution, at least not for me.

So I have been dumped a handful of times in my life, enough to know that it can really hurt when the feelings are real, but there is one way in my opinion that hurts less than any other. Now I'm not saying that this works for everyone, but I think I have some pretty good reasoning behind my logic. After every relationship I have been in I have hit the bottle except the most recent, and that has only led to more heartache and depression.

My last relationship was "the one". The girl I thought I was going to marry, and while the end was still filled with heartbreak, the pain was eased by a natural form of therapy, working out.

Now "Legally Blonde" probably isn't the most scientific source, but it makes a lot of sense. Working out and exercise is a real form of therapy. It's a way of letting go and releasing any extra energy that could be used to stress out or think. Working out is a natural stress reliever.

While most people right out of a breakout probably don't want to hear advice about hitting the gym, in my experience it is the best way to get out of the post relationship funk. It's much better than drinking, alcohol being a natural depressant, and will send you further into depression.

So, hopefully you never get dumped again, but if you do, try working out instead of drinking.

Sort:  

So wait, he's single now.... In Chicago.... during the summer? There are worse times and places to be while he's going through this. Go running along the lake and chat up some girls guilt free!

Not advocating for him to be a player, but definitely go out and meet people. Tinder is as much for entertainment as it is finding dates (beware the bitches on the "Tinder Meal Plan", where they go out on dates ~5 nights a week and eat for free....)

I know right! It could be so much worse! And I've heard about that, didn't know girls actually did that tho!

I had a feeling you were gonna say hit the gym. J-Rob would say find you a rebound girl

Hitting the gym is a good cure for a lot of mental stress and anxiety.... in this case, it could also lead to the "palate cleanser" to help him move past the chick.

Hahaha that was my other advise too! I just figured I would leave the exact quote out and keep it PG.

Exercise, like sleep and a proper diet, is something that improves our lives and increases life expectancy... Your advice is great, and I believe it is true for depression in general. The mind does not fare well in an empty room, ruminating over painful feelings, thoughts, and memories. You need to give yourself some space from these things so that you can see the problem clearly and move on. In other words, working out separates you from the pool of negativity which you would otherwise drown in.

That, and I have found that working out actually boosts mood. It is a release of toxins through sweat, and naturally produces endorphins.I hate to quote Legally Blonde, but endorphins do make you happy(ier).

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by kylecotton from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

So wait, he's single now.... In Chicago.... during the summer? There are worse times and places to be while he's going through this. Go running along the lake and chat up some girls guilt free!

Not advocating for him to be a player, but definitely go out and meet people. Tinder is as much for entertainment as it is finding dates (beware the bitches on the "Tinder Meal Plan", where they go out on dates ~5 nights a week and eat for free....)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60771.43
ETH 3271.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44