Apparently men aren't allowed to be vulnerable..

in #relationship4 years ago

A friend of mine showed me this and it's worth a gander. About 4:45 in, there's a talk show's response to the following Rihanna quote:

"if we get together & ya ex die & you cry...u single"

Every woman on the panel appeared to be emphatically in favor of Rhianna's quote.

I'm personally rather disgusted.

Not every relationship ends with a "Get the fuck out of my life." moment. Really, I've only had one. I'm close friends with a couple of my ex-girlfriends. Actually, I think some of us get along better now that we're not romantically involved. Hell, I might cry if my ex who I did tell to get out of my life were to die tomorrow.

But, it goes deeper than that. Don't, in one breath, say that you want a man who is sensitive and open about his feelings and in the next moment say that you'll dump him if he cries because somebody who has played an important part in his life passes away. At the very least, be sincere about one or the other.

If you don't want a man to cry in front of you, that's fine. Just say it. We'll find a different way to deal with it. Don't lie to us and yourselves and tell us to open up and then tell us that we're not sexy anymore because we broke down.

I'm not one to cry very often. I'm almost a freaking Vulcan. The thing is, most men train ourselves to kinda be Vulcans. Like Vulcans, it's not that we're emotionless, it's that we train ourselves to bury our emotions in order to maintain status and a sense of stability.

I'd also dare to speculate that most adult men who have tried the whole being open and sharing emotions thing have probably experienced being dumped because of it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62938.05
ETH 2552.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63