Both parties should be responsible to cater for their individual needs first, any other help from partners should be seen as a privilege not a right!!!

It was a beautiful afternoon, the sun smiling at me while my throat was reminding me of the importance of a cold drink in such condition. I just finished a two hours lecture, tired and hungry.

I felt something vibrating in my pocket, behold it's my girlfriend calling - she asked if we could go to one of the nice eatery on campus to eat. I gave my yes without hesitation.

Without further delay, I took a bike and in less than ten minutes I was at the entrance of the eatery, I waited for her arrival - ladies and inability to keep to time need divine intervention. She showed up after ten minutes of waiting.

The hunger in me couldn't withhold me from noticing her beauty and the beautiful smile that caught my attention the first time I saw her in my fellowship. She came with a Peck and warm hug, smiling and saying sorry - the youngest of feminine gender possesses that bribery charm to cover up for their offenses.

We got in and ordered for our food. The waiter served us and gave us our bill; we actually didn't spend much, it was only a little above two thousand naira. My girlfriend dip her hand into her purse and made the payment. I smiled and thanked her.

That's how one “amebo” with thin leg and big mouth joined our table, she faced me and said; “you are not even ashamed of yourself, you brought a lady to eatery and you can't even pay” she faced my girlfriend and advised her to do away with this stingy and shameless guy”

I tried to figure out what her concern was then I realised she was the Lady I met at the cinema that wanted me to pay for her popcorn and a bottle of coke which I refused.

It's embarrassing right? Anyways, I wasn't embarrassed in anyway, my girlfriend wanted to talk but I reminded her of our public ethics practise, that's how we left her with the empty bottle of coke we took and made our way out.

In a romantic relationship, is it compulsory for the masculine gender to always shoulder the financial obligation of the Lady? I'm not talking about marriage yet, I'm concerned about dating, courtship or whatever you might call it.

I've met a lady who complained that her boyfriend could only buy her books as gifts. The guy was buying book, you were buying nothing, one even got angry because the guy couldn't send her money because she's in school.

Now, I'm not saying guys shouldn't take certain responsibility but ladies shouldn't enter relationship for the financial gain that's involved. Your partner is not a money making machine that should shoulder your responsibility.

There's no crime in giving to your partner but it's a crime when you depend on your partner as the means for your livelihood. It's important for both parties to understand this; relationship isn't the cure for poverty, if you are poor learn to work, do a business and be financially free.

Don't become a burden to your partner. He's not your father that sent you to school, your foodstuff, photocopy fee, handout and other school related matter shouldn't be seen as his responsibility. Your wardrobe belong to you, it shouldn't be his problem.

I am not saying that a woman needs to be rich. In fact, if she has too much money and flaunts it, a man can be emasculated. A woman just needs to show that she lives within her means and does not foolishly spend money she does not have.

He doesn't pay for your subscription, he doesn't take you out as expected, he doesn't even send you money despite the fact that he's working is never a way to think he's not responsible. For crying out loud, he's not your father!!!

Ladies like to say; ‘money is not their motive for entering relationship, they massage their ego, claim equality and independence yet, the guy pays the bill.

Giving to each other should be a willing act not by force. Who says a Lady can't take his guy to cinema?
who says a Lady can't sponsor his boyfriend's birthday? Who invented the thinking that; the lady must depend on the guy for livelihood?

If you are of the opinion that; the guy is responsible to cater for your financial needs, then be ready to act like his wife not just a girlfriend!!! If you can't fulfill the obligations of a “married woman” to your partner, don't call him irresponsible because he's not acting as the husband that married you yet!!!

And we have guys too who are always on the lookout for a lady from rich background, they see ladies as escape route from their life of lack, they are always complaining, common Recharge card to call, the lady will be the one to send - sir, if you are too poor to do the needful in relationship, then don't start at all.

Both parties should be responsible to cater for their individual needs first, any other help from partners should be seen as a privilege not a right!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60371.26
ETH 2609.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54