I HAVE RAN THE RACE.

in #relationship6 years ago (edited)

The SUG parliamentary dinner ended few minutes to midnight. I was his date for the dinner, he...my boyfriend, an award winning parliamentarian. I was proud of him...he was awarded the parliamentarian of the year that night and he held his plaque so close to his heart.

It was past midnight when we left Basement, the venue of the dinner and headed home. Home was his house at BDPA, an estate opposite UNIBEN's main gate. It was unsafe, dangerous and too risky to walk the streets of BDPA at such an unholy hour but he said we can't pass the night in the school hostel. I told him to hold on...my instincts told me to take off the wedge sandals I wore and I obeyed immediately. Sandals off, I held my take away pack and juice in one hand then gave my phone to him.

We walked from Basement to Main gate and immediately we turned our backs on the school's entrance, my heart started beating so fast. I sensed danger but I said nothing. I took another look at my boyfriend and the way he held his plaque made me wonder who was more important... The plaque or his girlfriend 🙄

As we negotiated 20th Street, I looked over my shoulder repeatedly even as we talked about the dinner. Half way down the street, I looked over my shoulder again and caught a movement in the dark. Oh no! I calmly told him that someone was coming behind us and he said I shouldn't worry that we will get home soon.

I started breathing fast...I knew that was trouble. My spirit was already on it's way to Uyo to tell my parents what was about befalling their daughter. We were half way between home and the school's main gate when it happened.

Out of the shadows, the figure I saw earlier caught up with us. I saw him, a dark guy armed with a knife. He unsuccessfully tried to hold my boyfriend's hand and the next thing I heard was "Babe, RUN" 😨😨

I ran.....I did. Not towards home but back to school. I ran as fast as my legs could carry me. I flung the take away pack, juice and any other weight that would have made my flight cumbersome. I held on to the sandals.... ah, I can't fling someone's shoes oh biko 😔 Shoes that they pitied my life and allowed me to borrow for the event 🙆
Thankfully, the dress I wore was a short one. The tube rolled southwards exposing my precious boobs to the cool night breeze, I cared less.

I looked over my shoulders and saw boyfriend. He looked a bit funny...running so fast but still holding on so tight to his beloved plaque. Funny sight but I couldn't laugh...I had to get to safety first. Wait oh....Babe, so you can run like this? See you see Olympics na 😂😂😂 Ndi track and field event 🏃🏃

'Babe, I can't see him again oh', I said amidst heavy panting. "He is behind you. Don't stop running" He screamed a reply.
I slowed down as we hit the Lagos-Benin express way. I couldn't run again. I couldn't even feel my legs. I gave up. I couldn't breathe. I wanted to faint. Immediately my legs touched the tar, I collapsed in the middle of the road.

I saw my boyfriend run across the road then I saw our assailant again, clearer this time. He stood over me and asked for my phone menacingly. I told him I had no phone. He raised the knife. I was sure he was going to stab me...maybe pay back for making him run that distance for nothing. I almost fainted but at that instance, I remembered that I'd be dust if I don't find my legs and get off the highway. It's either he stabs me or an oncoming vehicle grinds me to dust.

I heard boyfriend screaming and asking the security personnel at the gate for help as I watched the assailant retreat into the dark. I hurriedly rose to my feet, surprised that my legs could carry me, I ran towards the gate even as I tried to cover my precious boobs. 🙄

I looked at my boyfriend again, he held his plaque even tighter this time. Hian! Let me catch my breath first....you will tell me who you are dating, whether it's me or that plaque!IMG_20180123_121157_533.jpg

Sort:  

Wow! I feel like crying..
This is deep

Here... have a face towel for your tears. 😂😂😂

I have never laughed this hard b4

😂😂😂 I'm glad I could make you laugh. Please follow back.

Congratulations @essienidaraobong! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61440.52
ETH 3447.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52