A PROUD SINGLE MOTHER

in #relationship6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180330_142258.jpg

It was the 21 of April in the year 2014, a sunny Monday afternoon at about 2.00pm. I was lying down gripped by fear with shivers down my spine for fear of being pregnant

I was a month late on my menstrual cycle and I knew fully well that I had unprotected sex the previous month after trying to have sex for the first time.hmmmmmmm it was a feeling I have always leaved never to forget.

I had never been in support of Abortion so it was not an option. Now there I was a Nigerian,a student in my final year(National Diploma ), a very"devoted"church goer, a chorister and a lead vocalist in her band, a role model to many, a lady whose dad was a knight in the Catholic Church and whose mum was the choirmistress at that point in time, with a 98.99% chance of being pregnant.

here I was battling with whether or not to carryout a pregnancy test for fear of the obvious and for fear of what my parents, my church, my coursemates, my neighbors and also those who looked up to me would say because I knew then that it would break my parent's heart. It was like standing between the devil and the deep blue sea.yes if you are a Nigerian you will understand where I am coming from.

For a Nigerian particularly from the North where I hail You would agree with me when I say I was as good as dead.Nigeria is a "religious"country that frowns at abortion and yet crucify you for being a single mother.

so there I was lying in utmost confusion not sure of what to do. All of a sudden it dawned on me that the decision was mine to make and not anyone else's. so also the regrets,the embarrassments,the 9months of mood swings,discomfort,anti natal care, and finally child bearing,then the big one which was child care and upbringing but also came the thought of the consolation whenever I looked at the bundle of joy and say thank God I kept you

After a long wide thought I made a choice and took my chances,i took the test which was positive as feared, broke the news to my parents who were devastated as expected but who as the parents they were took me in and took care of me,i stood the insults, the gossips, the mockery, the embarrassment,the stress of carrying a pregnancy and carryout out my school project and finally putting to bed

What an episode or ordeal you would say but here I am today a happy single mother with a Handsome 3 years old son who is so dear to my heart and a loving boyfriend who loves my son like he were his own and loves me unconditionally, and also here I am with streams of income that fetch me good money,taking very good care of my son, furthering my education and did I remember to say I graduated that same year with a second class upper despite all the huddles and bustles?yeah I did!!!!

Believe me when I say I am a proud single mother and it was only possible because I made a choice and was determined and most importantly because I didn't allow fear of what people would think or say influence my decision.

PEACE

please upvote,comment and resteem

Sort:  

Believe me when I say I am a proud single mother and it was only possible because I made a choice and was determined

What happened to the father?

I was a month late on my menstrual cycle and I knew fully well that I had unprotected sex the previous month after trying to have sex for the first time.hmmmmmmm it was a feeling I have always leaved never to forget.

Must be pretty unlucky to get pregnant the first time having sexual intercourse.

a lady whose dad was a knight in the Catholic Church and whose mum was the choirmistress at that point in time, with a 98.99% chance of being pregnant.

Interesting how human we are irrespective of the rules and expectations enforced on us by our society. Though, maybe it does have its advantages.

What happened to the father?
He wasn't supportive and cared less or not about the baby.so to answer your question he is in a Dungeon or a lagoon for all I care

Must be pretty unlucky to get pregnant the first time having sexual intercourse.

It was pretty awful as I was naive and didn't know i was ovulating

Very true, our human nature most times take a better part of us. It nature so we can't cheat it we can only put it in check

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59304.77
ETH 2534.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41