HEY YA"LL ... I'm not crazy like people told me ... I am Tree Jenny

in #reforestation7 years ago (edited)

Hey Ya'll,

I am Tree Jenny... Jennifer Leigh Smith...

About 19 years ago I went on a vacation to Costa Rica because i had just "won" a big environmental law case in Louisiana where I was working as a young lawyer. Our team won an environmental racism case and well, it depressed me. Why would winning depress me you might ask? Because I felt like I was on the wrong side of the argument. We were defending the polyethylene (plastics) plant (BASF WYANDOTTE) and I had to find case law and depose witnesses looking for an "out" for their employment practices which tended to reveal they hired African Americans to only do janitorial jobs instead of higher up better pay positions. The plastics plant was using the propaganda of "creating jobs" in their reasoning for building the plant in a primarily African American neighborhood.

When we won the case, my law firm couldn't help but see my conflicted conscience. Yep, I tend to wear my heart on my sleeve. So, in an effort to help me "feel better", they sent me on an all expense paid vacation to anywhere I wanted to go. I had always heard about forward thinking Costa Rica, so I jaunted off on a 10 day trip! Little did either of us know, I would be offered a job at the very first private National Wildlife Refuge during that trip, not to mention a cushy free gorgeous house to live, complete with a vehicle .

What?? The Universe was calling me to my path and I heard the call loud and clear. I walked back into the office, all tan and rejuvenated and proceeded to quit my high paying job, which took 6 months to really exit so I wouldn't leave anyone in a lurch. [Jenny y Chica.jpg]

()

Of course, they all told me "I WAS CRAZY", that I would get kidnapped or killed, that I'd come running back. I sold and gave away everything I owned, including my huge book collection, which I kinda regret, but oh well. I packed up my new little BLUE HEALER doggie "Chica" and hugged my family and friends "goodbye" and flew off into the great unknown, a single woman looking for deeper purpose with a touch of adventure!

And the rest is "herstory".... The early years I worked almost "for free" for a conservation organization educating communities about the importance of biological corridors. I was pretty close to fluent in Spanish from my childhood education and my DAD always grew trees on our land in Louisiana.

)![IMG_2246.jpg]

So when I noticed how the locals did not really plant trees on all the deforested land I could see, I started asking questions. Soon thereafter, I started one of the first private reforestation companies focusing on planting high biodiversity trees in a careful forest matrix. I learned little by little from campesinos, biologists and agroforesters. I went back to school twice. Now I am a Forestry Engineer and Certified Carbon Dioxide auditor.

()

I am also an adventure freak and a pretty tough chick if I may say so myself, with a feminine side alive and well who cares as much for developing empowered local communities as for the trees themselves.
)

So far, I can lay claim to planting and maintaining over 530,000 trees with my teams on more than 300 farms and public spaces in Costa Rica. I know from first hand experience that the work is about way more than planting trees.
()![Picture1.jpg]

Please stay tuned to my stories and hear all about it. I cant wait to share fun and "educational" stuff with ya'll! MUCHAS GRACIAS!!

()![Picture3.jpg]

[DSC05672.JPG]

()

()[Picture2.jpg]

Sort:  

This is wonderful work you are doing. Thanks for sharing this, and welcome to Steemit! Have an upvote, and you also gained a follower. You should tag this with the "introduceyourself" tag to possibly get a little more visibility to your post.

thank you I have no idea how this all works... i see I used stupid tags but oh well... ill get more savvy i suppose... now i am off to pay workers and load a truck and well... ill come back later and hopefully people will want to hear some of our stories of success and failure.... umph.... thanks again!!!

i don't think they are stupid tags....some tags are pretty under-used still....I will usually use one pretty common tag like "life" or "funny" and then the rest i try to choose tags that people similar to me will use.

Nice post btw, awesome work.

oh thank you for encouragement... i thought i needed to use standard tags so people could see the post... im looking forward to sharing the daily life of a rainforest tree planter eco warrior... im off to do some community interaction, pay day for workers and check trees and load a truck plus show some gnarly deforestation along the way... thanks for following!

Amazing work you are doing! South and Central America have the biggest rainforest in the world and they are in danger! Thank you for your labor !
Welcome to Steemit!

yeah there are still some healthy patches here that are critical to conserve. We educate about this through the work of planting more trees with fair pay because that gives people an alternative to deforestation. Plus I am jsut a tree freak. See my post today WHY? Thanks for playing with me on Steemit!

No problem hahaha

I graduated from an Academy of Environmental science. Deforestation in such high diversity biomes always break my heart! Keep up the awesome work.

awww thank you. Yes go see my story today for some videos of some of the worst deforestation you ever saw but then the fabulous fun solution of planting more trees which i show too and it is inspiring i hope and will make you feel good...

Hi there, @treejenny and welcome to Steemit!

This is a great place to be and steemit is the future, welcome to the community!

@jawaida

thank you so glad to be part of this cool community.

You're inspiring! Plus, you have an awesome middle name (it's mine too!) Welcome to Steemit :) :) I look forward to following you!

Yahooo for the Leigh's.... thanks... i hope my story today entertains and inspires you more... its fun.

Dude, are you like a genius or what?
Impressive. Congrats on finding your calling

Thank you... you are sweet. I love my work. Im lucky it found me... Check my story today... lots of videos and first hand tagging along... and yummy farm food...

Jenny! So honored to read your story and honored to see the work you are doing down here in Costa Rica. You are the first I have seen in this country to have such a high awareness of the community and the environment around you. Looking forward to reading more stories <3

THANK YOU KAHLIL>>>>

Great post, Welcome to Steemit, Glad to see we have started a little brushfire of creativity in the Costa community.

yes yes thank you

Jenny, this post has blown me away. You're truly amazing and super inspiring for me and many others. Upvoted and Followed. #MyHero ;-D

awww you are sweet... im gonna keep sharing stories... i just wish i had more time...

I bet. Keep it going when you can.

Welcome to Steemit Jenny! Enjoy the ride here. See you around! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57249.71
ETH 3092.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41