#Honour...Heart...Loyalty...Faith...had goosebumps to finally stand beneath the arc..

in #reflexion5 years ago

What to do with an 8 hour layover in Paris with your students...well a little sightseeing and education never hurt.

First we went to the Eiffel tower to see the historic monument. We then went to see the arc de triomphe...as a Canadian...remembrance of our past and respect of our present and future are engrained in us from a young age. It took my breath away...this simple yet complex structure...the words carved into every inch describing the many wins and losses of humanity and democracy over the many years...to stand by the unknown soldier and his eternal flame. My students always thought it was just an arc...with Spain's civil war to focus on they do not learn much about the other world history..and it's sad. They are the next generation..they must truly learn from the mistakes of the past. I took them around the arch and described each memorial to them..what everything meant...my students stood in silence solemn and then asked questions. They could not believe what they were witnessing. And neither could I...it had been some time since I saw interest from youth in the world and something other than their lives. They showed remorse for the mistakes of humanity and pride in the love that others showed for their country and their futures.

I was proud that day...I was sad...heartbroken...thrilled and enlightened. I was honoured truly to be there.

In darkness we may always find light. In truth may we find our way. With hope may we soar through life. With love...always love...may we live to see another day.

Have a great day everyone

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61645.58
ETH 3013.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71