Are you stuck? Time to retreat

in #reflective6 years ago

Everyone has their ups and downs. When you are down, what could help you to go back up? I am seeking the solutions myself. I know some of the answers but not all.

Recently I feel like I am stuck and not as productive as I used to be or wanted to be. It’s time to stop, pause and reflect.
Mobile apps have been surrounding my daily life. With me joining more and more wechat groups and downloading more and more apps, I receive constant notifications every day. I am fully overwhelmed. It’s human nature that when you receive a notification, you will wonder what it’s about and go check it out. Apple watch is helping but not helping in this regard. It makes us a lot easier to check the messages, but it also distracts us. Better still, turning off phone is not an option, but I can at least mute all the notifications and only check the messages whenever I want, I can block out the external world and retreat inwards to find new energy.

My attention has been drawn to all different type of content platforms. I am happy to find out that there is a way to make some passive income, but I also feel it’s too much. With more and more content platforms launching and competing to draw attention of users. For the sake of taking dividends as early bird, I’ve been joining as many platforms as I can, whenever I can. But what disappoints me is that, those content platforms don’t have sustainability, when everyone is only after money, few will really read the content and value it based on the quality. The more groups you are in, the more “friends” you get to support you, even if you put up some craps, you may still get high upvotes and rewards. From short term perspective, you may make some money, but from long term, you are not building up good followers. Most of the followers are simply after money. They are just like you, to take the dividends as much as they can before the platform is flooded with and eventually the dividends disappear.

Do I want to continue spending my time this way? My reading has become very narrow as I have to focus on blockchain/crypto reading so I can have something to put up to most of the content platforms. But how that’s going to help me to grow from long term perspective? I am not a day trader, the learning helps me to better understand some projects, but isn’t meaningful enough to help me to grow. Need a tradeoff between short term additional income and long-term growth.

My career has been in stagnant for few years. I have reached to the point where I am not very sure what I can do differently to continue climbing career ladders. As an employee, I own my own individual development plan(IDP). In the past, I always knew what I want, and of course, I still know what I want, but I seem to have hit the wall and couldn’t find a way to break the ice. I will be in China when this post is published, after I am back from the trip, my husband and I will go to a resort for a retreat. It’s time to recharge and gain new energy. I am hoping it will help to clean my mind and unstuck myself.

This post is more like inner reflection, thinking out loud. I am not sure if it’s appropriate to reveal your inner world and share your thoughts with your reader. There doesn’t seem to be a clear boarder line. I’ve been struggling what I could share, anything we put up is supposed to either resonate with others, or helping others. Unfortunately, steemit is one of the kind content platform that money talks. Maybe no one will read this, or even if they do, maybe they are also in similar situation so they know they are not the only one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99