To all redditors - be aware of the hidden censorship!

in #reddit8 years ago (edited)

I'm often referencing my posts on steemit in discussions on reddit, but those posts neither get any upvotes, downvotes or replies.

Today I opened up a "incognito" or "private" browser window, to see how reddit looks for someone that isn't logged in. So, being logged in as myself, I can see my comment, everything is fine ... but for everyone else the comment is hidden, like it it never existed. I didn't check my other comments and posts linking to steemit and haven't experimented with it yet - please share in the comments if you've experienced similar iffies.

The problem

This is really the worst kind of censorship, one spends time and energy writing up comments or posts on reddit ... and one continues doing so, thinking that everything is fine, but in reality all the effort is wasted, one has broken a secret rule ("don't post links to steemit on reddit") without knowing it, one is being censored unknowingly.

The bright side of it

If Reddit is so worried about steem that they have to hide links to it ... then that's a sign that we're onto something here.

This kind of censorship can also easily be fought once we know about it.

Action plan

It's important to spread the word about this censorship and to circumvent it. I'm going to set up a pointer page with information about the shadow censorship and link to my articles, and link to it instead of linking directly to my articles.

Sort:  

you just mean comments or do you mean when I post my steemit links to reddit, as well?

I started using reddit as another form of steemit outlet, where I post ALL my steemit links to. It's because of doing that, I have a karma rating of 10 and I'm starting to become more active on reddit as well.

reading this takes me back a little bit and I'm starting to wonder if I could be doing better on reddit if I weren't to use it to promote steemit.

Mind blowing revelation... or maybe I'm being just

It's relatively easy to find out - go to your user profile page and find the listing of comments and posts you've written ... open a "private browser window" or "new incognito window" if you're in chrome, for each comment/post that have a link to steemit, try to see if you can find them in the threads or subreddit ...

Really... incognito mode...? Why not actually use a VPN or TOR to view it as another connection, and not your connection, on the same computer you leave the comments with. You might be shitposting or something if you're getting censored... I posted a stupid meme to /r/bitcoin the other day and got guilded and went to front page... This is also where I found someone post about the censorship and frankly, I think its bullshit. Stop posing crap and more people will upvote it. lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63271.81
ETH 2568.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80