Reddit is tiRedd.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #reddit7 years ago

Hi, I'm erdenr,

I've been lurking here for a while now, hardly even curating. I'm curious what y'all think of Reddit now.

Last year I witnessed the takeover of my national subreddit, with over 100k subscribers. Full disclosure, my account was banned from the sub for pointing it out.

I saw false drama, fake conversations, carefully written comments designed to minimize impact, harassment of the best users, and the whittling down of active moderators to a single mod. A month before our last election, the mods decided to move political discussion to a dead sub 1% of the size. This was only overturned after a big deal was made of it, and the worst shill on the sub is top mod of the politics sub.

On a wider scale, Reddit admins have been caught editing people's comments without flags for personal reasons. The "undelete" subs have been killed off. On any controversial topic there are hordes of bots and astro-turfers lowering the tone. It's worse now than Digg ever got.

I witnessed it go from great to actively awful over the years. Even seeing it coming, it was really sad to get banned from my national sub. I haven't posted since.

Are there many other Reddit emigres here? Why did you leave? Have you found Steemit better?

Sort:  

Congratulations @erdenr, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54274.36
ETH 2279.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33