Difference between citizenry and ethnicity.

in #reddit3 years ago


image.png

On Reddit and elsewhere, you can see lots of Irish people (in Ireland) saying that Irish-Americans aren't actually Irish and shouldn't say they are. One Redditor said that you can't call yourself Irish unless you live there and have a Irish passport.

What an odd thing. Surely, these folks must be aware that there's a distinction between citizenry and ethnicity, and obviously soi-dissant Irish-Americans do not think they are Irish citizens?

At any rate, I will be willing to take the "You're not really Irish!" thing seriously from Irish nationals just as soon as I hear them tell Chinese-Americans they aren't Chinese, Korean-Americans they aren't Korean, Arab-Americans they aren't Arab, etc.

Sort:  

I hate labels and their arbitrary application, but you do make a good point. I do have 2 Irish ancestors (mid 1850s); I'm not Irish but I certainly have Irish blood

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67714.75
ETH 2616.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69