My Good Deed Of The Day Rewarded With Silver? - Donating A Bag Full Of Recycled Board Games & Toys Directly From The Curb To A Thrift Store

in #recycling5 years ago (edited)

What goes around comes around!

After mailing 5 of my 6 recent recycled street find sales for a decent sum of $193 revenue, I dropped by a thrift store... nothing there...

On my walk back, I spotted two bags full of vintage board games and toys (Erector sets/K'nex, etc.).

While some were sealed new and seemingly complete sets otherwise, it wasn't profitable for me to resell this stuff.

So, instead of walking away like most people would, I did the next best thing...

I brought the bigger bag with the best/neater stuff right back to the thrift store I came from and donated it.

The bag weighed roughly 15 pounds. This was saved from being destroyed and reintroduced in part back into our environment.


So what about rewarded with silver part??

From within the other bag I left, I pulled out this vintage wooden Solitaire board from Denmark.

After some research, I think the metal line around the board is a thin band of SILVER. If not, it's still a nice little vintage find I could easily sell, even though most of the balls are missing.

Silver in wood was a popular thing in Denmark around the 1960s. Small wooden boxes easily go for a few hundred dollars. This is a different type of product, but it's still interesting. I'll be able to test this metal for silver and have a decent hunch that it is.

What goes around comes around!

Time to go out on the curbs now and find some more. Friday nights are usually pretty good.

My last recycling post with 25 recycled finds sold for $2,000.

Thanks for your support,
@steemmatt

Sort:  

love the hustle man!!
this is where the opportunity meets repetition ! <3

Let's hope so! Love finding silver :D

If only the balls were silver, then I'd really be in the money. They're not though. Feel free to check out the other post linked above when you get the chance if you missed it. A decent showing of a typical volley of street finds with a few unique ones.

Walking back to the thrift store to donate?? Aaaww. Thank you. Faith in people restored. Keeping stuff out of landfill and helping another cause is very cool. Thank you.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

Nice work man! what the hell, I cant believe you even get see through bags hahahahaahah! I see your in usa from your steemit location. Thats just insane to know.. I have alot of free time also as im not into the slavery thing so i get to walk about and have regular places like an electric drop off point , and a funiture store a bus ride away. In the city is quite insane especially for building materials on a big scale. If I had a van here I could make homes in the forest from just the old build material from the never ending renovations. Some buildings are just a few years old and they get a revamp hahah, hotels etc its insane

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62647.38
ETH 3335.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46