Upcycle Those Pesky Organic Plastic Egg Containers

in #recycling6 years ago

Our computer will be down for a few more days... But I'll do my best posting from my phone. Please excuse the simplicity of my next few posts... 😍


Have you ever felt enoyed at the organic eggs industry for the three layers of plastic they are made with?

I understand organic and earth friendly don't necessarily have much to do with each other in an industry where money is the only end game that truly matters, but 3 layers of plastic just to have a nice label to promote your business on...

That's just too much!

Of course, we could stop buying these eggs that come in plastic, but as we juggle principles with preferences in this messed up world we live in, picking the cheaper option sometimes means more plastic.

Over the years, I've become a firm believer in stopping all production of plastic in order to make good with our specie's survival. I am not very worried for our planet but for the survival of our specie. If we keep going on the way we've been, we will surely render ourselves extinct.

Here is a way of upcycling those pesky plastic egg cartons into germination trays:

20180321_085120.jpg

Steem line 2.png

It is so simple, I feel like I don't need to go into details too much, but for those who do not have these 3 layered plastic cartons like we have here in the USA, here's a quick photographic explanation...

20180321_083347.jpg

20180321_083307.jpg

20180321_083247.jpg

20180321_083453.jpg

20180321_083539.jpg

20180321_085013.jpg

And Voilà!

Steem line 2.png

If you really want to know what is inside this Coconut, take a look at Humans Of Steemit.

QUOTE OF THE MONTH @stranniksenya
After all, a dream will remain a dream, if you do not start doing anything.

AS ALWAYS... THANK YOU FOR LOOKING, YOUR SUPPORT IS GREATLY APPRECIATED.
Up-Vote, Re-Steem and Reply. Your comments are very welcome! Don't forget… #DreamsComeTrue!

Sort:  

I never thought to use these cartons this way but it looks like it would work well. Thanks for the idea!

You're welcome, they worked well for me last year... thos time though, I don't know what's going on. Is it that my tomato seeds were no good? I've had them in dirt for almost 3 weeks now!

The cold window sill maybe (I hope, these come from Pascal Poot's collection kind of.)

Could be, tomatoes are heat loving.

True... I am trying soaking the rest of my seeds for 24 hours before planting and see what happens with those

Excellent re-purpose, and you get two seed trays out of the deal.

Heehee yea, they're a little small but it works!

Hahaa... This is lovely and innovative too...

And about your computer being down...
Yeah, u should really try using your phone, you might fine it more enjoyable.
I personally, ive never used a computer tl steem.. Its been my phone all the way. So usually, i even steem on the move

Thank you! I just type faster on the computer, but I steem from my phone a lot... mostly for answering comments or commenting on on posts.

Cool use of plastic trash. My cheaper ones here are in Styrofoam which won't work.

I am almost abale to stay away from styrofoam 100%... I will walk out of a shoo that tries to serve me coffee or food in styrofoam.

Thanks. We don't have trash pick up on our property so we will have to find something to do withh all the plastic accumulated. Art maybe, and other practicle things like building a small greenhouse out of bottles?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60840.29
ETH 2577.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57