You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: $3,570 in recycled goods sold in the LAST 24 HOURS (315 pounds salvaged) - All found for free on the curbs near my apt.

in #recycling5 years ago

You keep on hitting new highs. This is great stuff.

Will it get it much harder over the winter with the weather changing?

Sort:  

Thanks. It's really a function of focus and being aggressive about selling what I find. Sometimes I get in "hunt" mode a bit too much and procrastinate on listing what I find.

As for the weather, nothing stops me. I actually like it because the competition is thinner. I handle the cold well. Snow covering stuff is a problem, but it's very rare since the stuff only sits outside for half a day before pickup. Where there's a will, there's a way.

The only real threat is rain or moisture ruining stuff, but most of it is in sealed bags, or I just skip those nights in lieu of listing.

You mention competition, are you seeing more people out doing the same as you now?

Not much, but there are occasional people I see with vans that drive around to scout for various things. Some people grab mattresses, some scrap metal, some furniture they'll reupholster. There's nobody in my neighborhood like me though on foot marching the entire circuit. There are some people who come from outside the area to scour during daylight, but they're mostly collecting cans and bottles, or going through trash bags. I don't do that.

Either way, I can find a needle in a haystack. Even if people regularly scout around before me, I find tons of things they overlooked, didn't recognize, or were too lazy to find... or there's just that much to go around.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59702.71
ETH 2542.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54