Trust fund kid from California throws away his speaker system in my dorm

in #recycling7 years ago

Repost from my old blog from 2010-2011

In the trash room this past week, I found a 5-track DVD player with a six speaker surround sound. The six speakers include five regular speakers with a sub-woofer. The kid next to my dorm threw them away because the DVD player will not turn on, probably a wiring shortage to the ON button. He is from Cali, so it is too expensive to send back. The speakers can be used if the player does not work. I asked him if I could take them just to be sure, and he said yes. Hopefully I can fix the player. If not, I will recycle it. Next year these speakers will provide the surround sound for the TV for the apartment I have with some friends.

Unfortunately, the speaker system would only work for 30 to 45 minutes and then would short out. It was a problem with the wiring. However the amp and stereo system got probably recycled and did not go the landfill. E-waste is one of the largest problems on the planet, and I will be making a large post about this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62264.03
ETH 2431.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50