Trash For Some Could Be Treasure For Another: The Amazing Recycling Revolution in Sweden.

in #recycling7 years ago (edited)
Sort:  

My niece (10 years old) was my first inspiration on this subject almost 1 year ago when she asked me if I recycle paper and plastic as she does and take it to her school. I said no as I knew there is no selective way in transporting it from the garbage cans even if I separate it. But I felt challenged to find a way and now I separate paper, plastic and glass and take them to special collection point from where I am sure they'll be used. My conclusion is that the change starts with everyone of us and that we should listen more to our children as they own the future.

Starting with oneself is the only way out if we are to make a difference. The blame game should stop and everyone should start doing what they can. And yes, listen to the children!

Yes, an excellent approach to beginning to combat the problems of ecology and purity. I think it's important to understand the people themselves... As they say, start with yourself!

Japan is doing good with recycling as well. I hope rest will follow.

Nice post @norbu. Here in the Netherlands we have split waste aswell.
Could be better but its a start.
We split paper, plastic, toxic and glass from normal garbage.

I would prefer to see that producers would engage in better packaging for their products.
Talk to your stores about.
Like the other day I was in my local supermarket and saw organic bananas packed in plastic, that was a big supprise to see.
Also organic cucumbers and lots more items.
So I went up to the manager and asked him about it allready knowing the answer but wanted to confront him with it.
He was decent about it but basicly he said we loose money if fruits and veggies dont look fresh, because people would not buy it then, so they are pack in plastic.
I sometimes take the plastic of while being in the shop and hand it over to somebody working there, saying, I didnt ask for this and I dont want it so you can take care of it. All with a big smile :)
I usually get a grin back :)

If only people maintained an attitude as you have done, then we should be rid of this problem completely. I also admire your countries efforts and hope others learn and just make that start.

This is a problem which can't be fixed by reduction. It can only be fixed by stopping consumerism, which will also end capitalism. This is the sad truth.

Really useful information. Great post :D

Go Sweden! When I lived in Denmark for a few months, I remember the homeless were incentivized to recycle because there was a pretty high financial reward per can or bottle recycled.

Incentives have always worked for people and using it to mitigate problems of trash was a brilliant move by many countries. Hopefully this approach is used around the world slowly.

Very interesting, thank you for sharing this.
Sweden has also been for years a world leader and example in producing and using renewable energy. Renewable electricity in Sweden; hydro, wind, and solar - accounted for 49.8% of the electricity produced in the country back in 2014 and they plan on reaching 100% by 2040. Hopefully the rest of the World soon catches on.
Cheers.

Thanks for this info!

My pleasure :)

very good post. upvoted & following u. looking forward to your next post. hope uwill like my this post. pls upvote it. https://steemit.com/science/@ika497/do-you-want-to-test-your-intelligence-6-pictures-to-test-your-intelligenece-have-fun
thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64401.36
ETH 2627.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83