You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I'm Not Toying With You Here: You Won't Believe What I Find On The Curbs Of My Neighborhood On Recycling Nights! 10 MORE FREE Things You'll Be Shocked Or Pissed Off By

in #recycling5 years ago

It's amazing what people throw discard from their lives...People throw self-respect and relationships away just as easily I think. Some amazing funds you've made. I was telling someone about those memory cards you find a while back, the celebrity ones. Mind-boggling what finds its way to the kerb.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

A guy was here testing the sewing machine from my last post (which DID work) and he got away with a great deal for $180 - still nice. He asked where I got it since I don't fit the mold and he was shocked when I told him "the curb nearby 3 weeks ago." On the bright side, he just messaged me about 3 bar stools down the street from me to go check out, and my friend half a block down the road just called me about something and said she is looking for 2 bar stools, so the karma pays itself forward. I'm going to check them out now.

I see people picking things on the kerb here and there but have never heard anyone do as well as you. It's not all about the money either as you say right? Keeping things out of landfill is a good policy.

Posted using Partiko Android

The money helps cover my expenses and live freely, and while that's important, that's about it. Crypto is how I view money now for better or worse. I do gauge my success in the recycling space by the number of things sold, and the money is a good metric of the "value" of how much others perceive my efforts in my mind. Money is more important to me on the thrifting side to make sure I'm getting a good ROI on my investments, but recycling has no cost to me and I actually view it as leadership, freedom, meditation, exercise, and social responsibility.

Well, it's a good habit to have, the recycling ethos. A pity more don't have it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ironically, this was right next to the bar stools when I went to check them out... good karma at work, eh?

Nice! I bet you could recycle that into something! 🤔

Posted using Partiko iOS

Not to drag this out, but this is where it's going (take a quick peek). This was 8 months ago, but it's growing more and more.

https://steemit.com/guiltypleasures/@steemmatt/so-blewitt-wants-to-know-our-guilty-pleasures-i-ll-cave

Nice stash and a great idea! I have a similar thing where I put money away that I save by going without things like an extra coffee or something like that. I buy metals with it.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62683.02
ETH 2962.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64