You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STREET MAGIC - A Look Inside My One-Man-Army Recycling/Thrifting Resale Business - $9,164 Revenue / $7,896 Profit In November

in #recycling5 years ago

Very cool and very impressive @steemmatt!

I've been doing something similar for a long time, albeit in a more specialized way on a much smaller scale. I wonder, do you live in a city? Some success still, here in our small town... my wife specializes in upmarket clothing from thrift stores and rummage sales which she puts in her Poshmark store; I more do collectibles and vintage items. For us, it's more a case of finding "an item here or there," than enough to make a substantial income... there are a lot of upcyclers in this town.

We have long considered whether it would be worth our while to make weekly trips (2 hours each way) to the more swank areas of Seattle, Tacoma and Olympia, which are the nearest population centers with a "leisure class" that discards stuff of value rather than penny pinch.

Sort:  

Thank you. I live in a large US city where there are a lot of thrift stores and far more free recycling available on weekdays. I never thought I'd leave my corporate career for reselling, but the inventory is plentiful here with the right type of consistent hustle, and I doubt I could go back after seeing the light... plus all of the free time I've earned for myself every day.

Your idea of commuting to a metro area on a weekly basis is a good one. One or two trips on popular city curb recycling nights (if they put clear bags and boxes on the curbs) would be more than worth the trip if you hone the craft. It should ideally be where the more affluent people live, as they're the most wasteful.

The drive and gas might be annoying, but the thrill of the hunt should fuel the ride there, and the excitement of any finds should make the ride back a breeze. It takes some scouting and knowledge of the curb recycling schedules to pinpoint. I have my surrounding neighborhood down to a science... Yes, all of this income has come from about only my immediate hood within walking distance as it's a wealthy area. There are countless neighborhoods in my city of the same ilk I could also pillage, but that's for when I choose to ramp up.

Keep in touch with any questions or if you make a trip to scout/pick in a nearby city.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64197.36
ETH 3181.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49