You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STREET MAGIC - A Look Inside My One-Man-Army Recycling/Thrifting Resale Business - $9,164 Revenue / $7,896 Profit In November

in #recycling5 years ago

Like the quote.. One man's junk is another man's treasure. This is really great stuff and out of curiosity... Are there also many items which you've gotten but don't get sold ? Or do you manage to sell everything

Sort:  

I've accumulated a lot over the years I keep in organized chaos in my apartment. I've also recently rented a sizable storage unit up the street for large items I normally wouldn't take, so buyers can meet me for cash deals. This has been a great catalyst, especially for things I can't carry up 4 flights of stairs myself.

With this in mind, I sell almost everything. Some in 24 hours and some take years. Most things I find now sell in a few days or weeks because I've sharpened my eye, and gotten more aggressive to list them faster. It can be a struggle to balance the hunting and farming. Hunting is more fun and feels more vital to me.

Slow sales are most often because I patiently wait for the prices I want. Many things I find outside are discontinued or rare older things, where they are hard to get, but buyers aren't common. However, when the buyer surfaces, I get the win at my price because there's no other choice. This reinforces my willpower to wait. It also proves that my strategy works. I'm patient.

My goal is to focus mainly on quick flips these days, but to mix in some items that will sell slowly so they're nice surprises when they do. I find so many high quality things, that I try to save as much as possible in the spirit of recycling. If it sells fast or slow, it's not a big difference outside of the space it consumes.

I've gotten into the habit of taking not-so-profitable things and extremely slow sellers to thrift stores at times. Sometimes it's just to keep the positive energy flowing, even if I'm passing on the revenue.

Thanks for your interest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63633.54
ETH 3477.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54