How to make good use for a very old laptop/pc

in #recycling7 years ago

Hi guys, today I would like to talk how I did used a pentium laptop with 512 mb ram and 40 gb storage into something usefull.You have a few options: 1. You can install linux. Linux is free and also it can work on older hardware very well.I recomend linux mint for beginers as it has a similar interface to windows but it would be good to know the terminal. 2. You can make it a router(that's what I did).On older laptops you can put network cards on them on the side so I put one network card and bought a switch and installed a os called pfsense.It's also free as linux and you can do a lot with it.It detected the wireless card inside and the internal network and also external network without problem.I use it as a firewall. 3. Dissasamble it and use it for parts. My dad repairs electronics and another good use it's recycling the parts inside.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58211.91
ETH 2476.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38