Going fast in a go kart with my Gopro!

in #recreation7 years ago (edited)

For those that have the need for speed and would like to experience the thrill of road racing, outdoor go karting is the way to go!
I can't begin to describe how fun it is. Ok, I lied, this post is dedicated to doing just that.

Just a little backstory, a few months ago I had the honor of being one of my cousin's groomsmen. The other groomsmen and myself wanted to give my cousin Ted a bachelor party he would never forget. Since we're all car guys and we all love to autocross (a form of automotive racing), we thought outdoor go karting would be a perfect way to end a bachelor party weekend. After some research, we managed to find a packaged deal at one of the nicest race tracks in the North East, NJ Motorsports Park in Millville, NJ. The package gave us a total race time of three hours complete with an instructional session and full safety gear. When I say safety gear, we wore full on fireproof race suits! Another awesome perk of the package was a complimentary meal. Having a massive burger, an abundance of fries, and a tall drink of your choice never felt so good! We never expected go kart racing to be that demanding on our bodies but with no power steering and suspension in our karts, the experience left our bodies screaming for calories.

Talking about the experience doesn't do it any justice so that's where my Gopro comes in. I actually managed to capture close to two hours worth of footage. Every time I replay the videos a rush of adrenaline kicks in and I feel as if I'm reliving that moment zipping around the track. I was able to screenshot some of the best moments of the day so I hope you all enjoy these photos!

Feel free to share this experience to to the rest of the community. I'm sure there are others out there looking for fun recreational ideas!

So it begins! firesuits - check, helmets - check, Gopros - operational. Let's race Mariokart style!
K2.jpg

The competitive juices are flowing and so is the 3 gallon tank of gasoline right next to me lol.
K4.jpg

Let's start off by warming up the tires.
K5.jpg

Time to show everyone who's boss. Actually that was short lived because my buddy passed me on this hairpin left turn.
K1.jpg

Bumper to bumper battle! Plenty of good drivers that day.
K6.jpg

Sort:  

Awesome story and pictures! Did you get lap times or a leaderboard from the place?
My first time (indoor) gokarting, I got my butt beat... Nothing like driving the Evo!

I think I placed second overall. The guys I'm with are pretty good autocross drivers so the competition was no slouch. Wish I could miniaturize my Evo and whip that bad boy around in a gokart track haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59218.43
ETH 2534.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44