Christmas Day I will have 6 Months Clean!!! Not a puff or a sip of anything.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #recovery8 years ago

So for anyone who has talked with me on steemit.chat or discord I am very open to the fact that not that long ago i finally shook off my addiction that plagued me for many years. A lot of people don't really understand what it is like to be an addict. The main misconception is that it only effects the poor and homeless. This could not be further from the truth. Addiction does not discriminate. There are people who were C.E.O.s of large companies who had to fight for their lives back and make a personal choice to never touch mind or mood altering substances. I believe this also includes taking medications as perscribed.

Most people these days can go out and occasionally have some drinks maybe even do a little cocaine at the bar and wake up the next day like "that was a crazy night" and proceed to go back to their regular lives and be functional. I have hard feelings towards those people. In fact I slightly envy them but it is very clear to me that I can not do the same. For some reason I wake up and have the uncontrollable desire for more.

I have tried many different methods including willpower alone and always ended up failing to become one of the normals. Today though I follow a spiritual 12-step program. I follow spiritual principals and am able to live a normal productive life again. I attend regular meetings where as addicts we can best help each other stay clean. We share experience, strength, and hope with one another and as a community we overcome our addictions that many others would not understand.

There has also been many famous people over time who have done the same. This shows that it effects more than just the lower class of society. Steve-o from the popular Jackass shows and movies actually has a documentary showing him at his lowest and the trail that led him away from certain death. "The Demise and Rise of Steve O" is a very compelling documentary that at times can be entertaining but as a whole gives a message of hope. "Russell Brand from Addiction to Recovery" is another great example of the power recovering from addiction has in your life. He may be better known as the drug addicted rock star in the movie "Get Him to the Greek".

My story has been similar to both of these. I'm not famous but while watching these the similarities are astonishing. They suffered the same as many regular people have. Today those who have recovered turn out to live very successful lives. The skills and principals we learn when recovering from addiction become applied to real life situations.

So if you know some struggling with addiction just know that inside they are not all morally corrupt. Most of us all have good in us and a lot of times it is hidden with anger. resentment, addiction, and even mental illness. Today I am proud of who I am and will keep choosing to live a better way thanks to the help of those who have found a new to live and share it with others.

https://steemit.com/@spbesner

Feel free to email me at [email protected]

Visit http://seanbobs.strangled.net/


Sort:  

You are doing great! Stay strong!

Congratulations and keep it up!

Thanks I like to break the stigma the may surround addiction and also mental illnesses. Talking about it helps too. I am not ashamed of who I was I can only be proud of who I am becoming each day!!!!!! Cool gif too

Keep it up. Thanks for posting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60938.00
ETH 2386.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57