You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: News of fake Steem Engine + compromised accounts. Be careful people! + Question about Changing Recovery Accounts

in #recovery-accounts5 years ago (edited)

Thanks!

One more question. Does or should the "receiving" account recovery (the account being set as account recovery) have a say about it?

For example, I created a test account using my claimed tickets to see if I would be set as the recovery account. If I want to set the recovery account for that account from 'gadrian' to 'steem', should 'steem' have any say in this?

Steemit Inc. collects some information about users they sign up to Steem. The reason provided for the data collection is that it will be used in case of an account recovery, to proof it's you.

But what does Steemit Inc. know about the account I would set 'steem' as an account recovery for, if I created it (and that is a clear case, but I could have created an account for someone I didn't know). How would their mechanism of verifying the ownership work then?

Sort:  

This account also needs to know how to proceed in case an account recovery has been filed.

So, if you add your buddy as a recovery account because he knows you, but he isn't quite savvy about Steem, you might still get in a dead end, or at least delay the recovery quite enough, before everyone involved finds out what needs to be done.

Good point about not setting @steem as a recovery account.

Well, thanks a lot! This is information good to know long before one needs it, because for now I don't particularly need it.

.

Thank you for listing more options. I only knew about SteemWorld.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64741.88
ETH 3457.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55