Steemit Record Pool | Song of the Day - "Sentient 6" by Nevermore (R.I.P. Warrel Dane)

in #recordpool7 years ago (edited)

I just heard the sad news of the passing of Warrel Dane (Nevermore, Sanctuary). Though I haven't listened to Nevermore in a few years, it struck a chord to me when I read the news from the record label that produced his albums (both solo and Nevermore).

He was a huge influence to me and was one of my heroes from the music industry. When I was a rebellious teenager trying to find myself and my identity, his lyrics aligned with my thoughts on religion and politics. I used to live in Seattle, Washington, which is his hometown, and I was living there during the peak of Nevermore's craze. I lived just up the street from where he and the bassist, Jim Sheppard were bartending at a bar called 'Goofy's' when they weren't busy touring or recording an album. One day, while I was walking to the grocery store in my Nevermore shirt, both Warrel and Jim passed by me and pointed to me saying, "Nice shirt, dude." I was too star-struck to make a response, except to smile and say "Thanks." A few years later when I had moved to Los Angeles, and caught them live at the Key Club in Hollywood, and after the show, I went up to Warrel and had a chat with him. I said, "Are you still working at Goofy's?" "Goofy's?!", he replied sarcastically.

Warrel you are an inspiration to millions of fans worldwide. Hope you have finally found your peace.

WarrelDane_foto01.jpg

"Rewarded when I replicate, isolate and mutate
To assimilate a fragmented plea for ego"

This song is about a robot who is created as a servant to man, but is also created with devestating weapons, and is made to be virtually indestructible. Over time, the robot begins to realize that humans have the ability to think and act independently without programming, and have the ability to dream, have hope for a life after death, and are capable of experiencing acute emotions such as sorrow, joy, love, hate, and happiness. And this knowledge makes the robot begin to question his own purpose of existence. He wants to become like humans, to feel and think and dream and move on after death.

Bonus! This is a song that is a prequel to "Sentient 6", and was written about a decade before (Windows 95).

"To know I am machine, I learn perchance to dream, in digitized remorse"
This song ("The Learning") is about computer programs that are isomorphic to human brain, programs that can mimic perfectly human feelings.

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @stickykeys to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64344.88
ETH 2629.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83