Steemit Record Pool | Song of the Day: The Avalanches ft. Sonny Cheeba of Camp Lo - Because I'm Me (2016)

in #recordpool7 years ago (edited)

"If she don't love me, what can I do? Just put on my best pair of shoes because I'm me."

The Avalanches - Because I'm Me
Featuring: Sonny Cheeba of Camp Lo
Produced by: The Avalanches
Album: Wildflower (2016)

After 16 years since their seminal full-length debut album, "Since I Left You", in 2000, the legendary plunderphonics powerhouse, The Avalanches released their second album, "Wildflower", in 2016.

Commenting on "Because I'm Me", The Avalanches' Robbie Chater said,

"I love the start of this song because I always imagined this little kid walking down the street with a pair of headphones on, he's got a Walkman, and he's singing this song at the top of his voice. He's so happy to be alive and he doesn't give a f--k what anyone thinks and he's just having a great day."

The Avalanches have a reputation for having captivating videos; "Because of Me" is no exception. Filmed in The Fordham Metro-North Railroad station in Bronx, NY, The Avalanches’ charming video features a young Michael Jackson look-alike dancing along to the track as an entire horn section follows him. Paired with the inimitable talents of Camp Lo’s Sonny Cheeba, the song is infectious from beginning to end. Below you will be pleased to find the official music video. However, since the audio quality is not ideal, I've also included the studio album version and the lyrics below.

For those curious about the production of the track: The Avalanches' Robbie Chater and Tony Di Blasi used the art of plunderphonics to fuse the instrumentation of "Want Ads" by The Honey Cone with vocals from "Why Can't I Get It Too" by Six Boys In Trouble. Both tracks are included below for your reference as well.

Official Music Video (Directed by Greg Brunkalla):

Studio Album Version:

Lyrics:

[Hook]
If she don't love me, what can I do?
Just put on my best pair of shoes
Because I'm me
Because she said, "He's the one that drill the charms
Honey let's go wrong"
I just want to know
What's wrong with me?
Being in love with you

[Verse 1: Sonny Cheeba]
Yeah
9th grade had the jingles of the swinging rainbow jacket
Lost lingo, Bronx's only Django
Snap, he'd got less tougher
That's where my props go
That's where my pops went
See my percentage is a pennant to the planet
Knock it out the ball park, Frankie
I should not tire this tire
To a better love, let the wings spread
It'll always come back, baby
Come back, shellac black, baby
A come back, flat black paint on a Chevy

[Hook]
If she don't love me, what can I do?
Just put on my best pair of shoes
Because, I'm, I'm me
Because I'm me
Because I'm me
Because I'm me, I'm me

[Verse 2: Sonny Cheeba]
Never mind my tone when I told Pretty Tony
Listen to my tone, you ain't catchin' you a Tony
Award-winning walk when you running with a shottie
Why you running from us?
Why you messing with us?
We ain't got no guns, we just let the bears witness
The Grizzly, maybe Polar
You ain't ready, you ain't ready 'ready rolled up
Pulling a machete, cut the bamboo paper
And let's roll out baby

[Hook]
I just want to know
What's wrong with me?


Reference Samples:

The Honey Cone - Want Ads

Album: Sweet Replies (1970)

Six Boys In Trouble - Why Can't I Get It Too

Album: Street and Gangland Rhythms: Beats and Improvisations by Six Boys in Trouble (1959)

Thanks for listening,
@scuzzy


Previous Song of the Day

Screamin' Jay Hawkins - I Put a Spell on You (1956)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59583.90
ETH 2578.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48