Steemit Record Pool // Song Of The Day: "Santeria" by Sublime

in #recordpool6 years ago (edited)

Sublime, the American ska punk band from California (Long Beach), is one of my favorite bands from the 90s. Their self-titled album Sublime (which is actually their 3rd album) is one of my personal favorite albums of all time and includes a crazy amount of awesome tracks. It's hard to pick a favorite, but if I had to, I'd pick Santeria.

santeroa.jpg

The song tells the story of a jealous ex-boyfriend who is planning to take revenge on the guy who stole his girlfriend. It has one of the catchiest song-intro-lyrics I've ever heard.

Sadly Bradley Nowell, lead singer of Sublime, died from a heroin overdose shortly before the song was actually released. The music video was recorded after his death; Nowell makes a cameo via stock footage. In the video Lou Dog, Nowell's beloved pet Dalmatian, is seen along with the other members of Sublime remembering Nowell.

I still believe that, if Bradley Nowell hadn't died in 1996, Sublime could have evolved into one of the biggest bands of the 90s. I know at least I will still be having their tracks on repeat years and years from now!

sublime-.jpg

Shout out to @djlethalskillz and @vandigital for starting the #recordpool initiative! @recordpool

ww.png

Follow___.png
.

Sort:  

Awesome. No other band fused ska/reggae/hip hop/punk like they did. They changed history... I just wrote a little history about ska and Prince Buster @newtreehints, please check it out if you can ! :) Love your post and because this is such a global network here, still alot of people don't know about Sublime, but they're greats who've been immortalized by there passion! Thanks for sharing.

I agree, and it's a shame they didn't get the chance to release more albums with all the original members! I'll definitely check out your post as well. Thanks for the comment!

22-0.70

This comment has received a 0.14 % upvote from @speedvoter thanks to: @crypto-econom1st.

This is a beautiful song that I've heard once before, and never learned the name of.. until now. I could finally add it to my playlist! I am very thankful for that. Will also check out the rest of the album on occasion.
Thanks for a great share.

Great to hear that! They have quite a few other great songs. Try 'What I Got' for example, I'm sure you'll like that one as well!

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 5.23% vote... I was summoned by @mindseye-music! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Mindseye from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59046.50
ETH 2654.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50