Steemit Recordpool: Two Classics by Funk Legends Sly & The Family Stone

in #recordpool6 years ago


Sly & The Family Stone
Source


One of the most exceptional funk bands to ever do it, Sly & The Family Stone left their mark on the world of music and countless artists that tried to emulate their pure, soulful energy. They hailed from San Francisco and were a part of the labels Epic and Stone Flower throughout their tenure 1966-83. The Red Hot Chili Peppers were the first band I ever became OBSESSED with thanks to my great friend @minar213 who told me to listen to Can't Stop in 8th grade. Sly was an enormous influence on their style, you can't hear it in Can't Stop but their early recordings were funky as hell, and they even covered If You Want Me To Stay which you can find here. It sounds pretty similar to the original but it was actually the first time I heard the song, which led me to discover Sly's actual work.


Sly and his crew had a ton of hit songs but I'm going to share my two favorites here. Family Affair came on the radio when I recently finished a shift doing Lyft. I was so relieved to be done sitting in LA traffic all day with no movement. Just driving home with the windows down breezing by on the empty freeway to their voices created an atmosphere of tranquility. Sly Stone and his sister Rose sing lead vocals. Rose has such smooth clarity in her voice when she sings "It's a family affaaaaaaaair" while Sly counters with his deep, low tones. The lyrics ruminate on family dynamics and how things change and people go their own paths throughout the years


One child grows up to be
Somebody that just loves to learn
And another child grows up to be
Somebody you'd just love to burn
Mom loves the both of them
You see it's in the blood
Both kids are good to Mom
Blood's thicker than mud
It's a family affair, it's a family affair


It was released on their album There's A Riot Goin' On through Epic records and hit No. 1 on the Billboard Hot 100, and it was the final #1 single for the band as well. It's led off by a Hohner Pianet electric piano and it also makes use of a drum machine, making it the first no. 1 track to feature a pre-set rhythm arrangement. Funnily enough, Sly didn't think the song wasn't worthy of being released as a single. Good thing his label and A&R manager talked him out of that.


Sly and The Family Stone - Family Affair


"If You Want Me To Stay" was the single from their album Fresh in 1973. It was the final song to chart in the top 20 for the band. Sly was starting to drift apart from the band, so he created this masterpiece mostly by himself. He was using coke more and more and it was the beginning of the end for them. One of the most infectious funk jams of al time, I can't help but dance no matter if I'm sitting in a seat or standing up. It's told from the perspective of Sly telling his sweet young thang that if she wants to stay with him then she's gotta let him do his thing and be himself.


Sly & The Family Stone - If You Want Me To Stay


These are two of their most well-known songs. If anybody has some deeper cuts on deck please share them! I'd love to get into this great act more.

Sort:  

rhcp a life vibe.
"if you want me to stay" is stellar.
many thanks for putting us on to more gems from the past :) !

fuck yea isn't that groove so good :)

yep!! it's fawnkeh.

Massive Classic Sound!!! Funk Quality!

I love the Funk!! Also good to hear from you! I hope you've been well :)

Not so well! Too much winter by now 🙈

oh no. Wish I could give you some LA weather. it's only 60-70 degrees but that's cold for us hahaha. A lot of days feel like spring here

It just started snowing again when I thought it would be all over by now.
I do remember Venice beach well :)

love this post..happy to support...I also play jazz/blues sax..

Yea I remember you previously saying you're a sax player! I've been thinking of some good sax/jazz music to post and haven't nailed it down yet... But hopefully you see the post when it comes out

Man as soon as I listen to " If You Want Me to Stay" I couldn't help but start dancing, that's that real music. Thanks for sharing.

Real music, you said it. I like try to stretch my taste out to every genre possible and you can't go wrong with that song. It's timeless!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66858.35
ETH 3088.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72