Song of the Day: "HNNY" Is An Intriguing Swedish Producer

in #recordpool6 years ago

I think I found him back around 2013 after scouring the "Suggested Videos" column on Youtube. It's actually pronounced like "honey" and his real name is Johan Cederberg and he's had releases on labels like Anjunadeep, Omena, Let's Play House, Pets Recordings, and his own label Local Talk. He has been DJing since 2012 but took a break, then later returned in 2017.

Starting off with 12:00. It's got a smooth operator type of arrangement on the percussion coupled with these warm guitar notes. Heavenly and pleasant type of mood that puts you in a trance. "Cheer Up My Brother" takes on a more somber tone with this longing, pastoral vocal sampling that sounds kind of country. It made me think of Avicii's "Hey Brother" but obviously not as EDM-packed. Feels good if you're in a down mood. "Nothing" on the other hand feels quite cheery! Has a more traditional house beat with soulful sampling, and the lead sounds give me a somewhat disco vibe. In 2017, he pursued a slower, ambient direction with his art. "Till Dig" is an abstract, piano-laced example of that.

Those are some of my favorites by him. If you've heard his stuff and want another song mentioned please share!

HNNY - 12:00

HNNY - Cheer Up My Brother

HNNY - Nothing

HNNY - Till Dig

Sort:  

Friggin love HNNY

hell yea. I still need to catch him live

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66209.23
ETH 3496.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.16