Song Of The Day: Classic G-Unit Song that Samples Marvin Gaye "Wanna Get To Know You"

in #recordpool6 years ago (edited)

I've been sharing a lot of hip hop lately old and new, just because I've been in that mood. And I haven't posted a ton of rap in my time on steemit so I'm expanding on the genres.

I was walking down Venice Beach with my girlfriend @liz-creates last today and some shop was blasting one of my fav cuts of the mid 2000's "Wanna Get To Know" You by G-Unit featuring Joe. Some songs you look back on and might think "Yea I used to love this, but it doesn't make me feel the same as when I was a teenager listening to it" Didn't happen for me right then, everything felt just right like it did when I heard back in 2004!


Lloyd Banks, 50 Cent, and Young Buck
Source

Young Buck's verse kicks things off, then Lloyd Banks is second at bat and 50 Cent closes the show. Buck has a solid leadoff and Fiddy ain't bad but Lloyd Banks is my guy. His flow and scraggly voice have this aesthetic I can always vibe with. His solo album Hunger For More was in heavy rotation during the impressionable Middle School years. The world of partying and hooking up with girls still seemed like a faraway thing for my pre-pubescent ass, but it was the age where I just started getting curious.

"Wanna Get To Know You" is one of my favorite beats of all time. The best section of is still that chorus by Joe in my opinion. I also recently learned that this song sampled the hell out of an old Marvin Gaye song titled Come Live With Me Angel. I love finding out something's been sampled then sitting down and picking apart the original, finding out what was utilized from art long ago. I mean, it's pretty much the same fucking chorus that Marvin is singing, definitely sampled the shit out of it. When you listen you can't help but wonder how much did Joe actually add onto it? Oh well, still love the song by G-Unit and the verses from the crew. They definitely added some nice pieces to make a fuller beat.

G-Unit feat. Joe - Wanna Get To Know You

Sort:  

Lloyd Banks' verse >>>

Bruh Young Buck thooo

Young Buck's verse is tight I'll give him that but Lloyd's my boy. Buck and Lloyd are top two

🐐🐐🐐🐐🐐🐐🐐🐐🐐

My favorite track off this album, this track makes you think of all the women you've been with and how good that shit was haha

HAHAHAHA yeeeeessss duuuude

G-g-g-g G-UNIT!

Thanks for your support my friend. (I'm off later with clarinet to play in 50 piece symphony ...yesterday I'm playing blues saxophone..lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56430.09
ETH 2323.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35