Song of the Day - The Sky Was Pink by Nathan Fake

in #recordpool6 years ago

It's been a few days since I've been able to make it online to do my normal #songoftheday posting. I'm just getting settled into Virginia tonight after a pretty intense 4 days in NYC for the first time in a decade. Played some great rugby against the NYC Police Department and learned a ton about the sport that I love by getting to play with people with a better skill set than mine. It was great.

But that's not really why I'm here today. I'll write about Rugby in another post. The Sky Was Pink is a pretty popular song and not something I would normally shoot for as a #songoftheday but while in NYC I managed to catch excellent sets at Output from Lone, Vatican Shadow, Apparat, and Modeselektor. Output was absolutely amazing. Great sounding system, classy lighting, and a rooftop that made me feel like NYC was special. Loved it. It was about peak set when Modeselektor pulled the energy back and let loose with this track. I've heard the James Holden mix of this dropped too many times to count over the years, but this is the first time I've heard the original played out and something between the lighting that swirled around and the energy of the crowd made this an unexpected moment of beauty that blew me away. It's a great track. Enjoy.

Sort:  

I feel like a lot of attention gets given to the James Holden remix, but it was fantastic hearing this version in such a great environment. Made my evening.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56912.97
ETH 2334.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37