Song of the Day - Piel by Arca

in #recordpool6 years ago

I dug into the first two episodes of the new season of The Handmaiden's Tale today because I'm a sucker for dystopian futures and I needed my favorite source of soul crushing sadness today. While I've heard some criticism over the use of modern music in the new season, I personally really enjoyed the hell out of what I heard. Today's #songoftheday comes from it as it made me remember this haunting song from Arca's latest.

Arca has become one of the hottest names you might not be familiar with over the last few years thanks to production credits for artists like Kanye West, FKA Twigs, Frank Ocean, and Bjork. With mind bending sparse production and habit of deconstructing gender on stage, his solo productions often do something you don't see much in music: marry a touch of pop appeal with futuristic abstract music. Piel nails these qualities for me. A mourning vocal and a high pitch tone carry this, but it's simplicity lends a sense of dread that underscored tonights episode perfectly.

Sort:  

Beep! Beep! @shadow3scalpel at your service. I am here to assist all military members on Steemit. This HumVee will be scouting posts from a list of Veterans that is maintained by @chairborne. If you are a Veteran and new to Steemit, and you have questions or want to join the Veterans community, reply to this comment. We got your six, unless you are in the rear with the gear. Ooh-Rah!
Comment by @inthenow. This is a opt-in bot.

ARCA LIVE IS A MUST SEE. ABSOLUTELY TRANSCENDENTAL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58560.83
ETH 2491.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40