Song of The Day - Napoleon Solo by At The Drive-In

in #recordpool6 years ago

I've been posting a lot of electronic based music on here lately, so tonight I wanted to step back and post something I love that is decidedly different. During the majority of my high school years I was obsessed with Radiohead to a terrifying degree, but towards the end of my high school time a new challenger to my favorite band began to emerge in the form of At The Drive-In. Unfortunately they broke up almost as soon as I discovered them, but luckily they still had a good amount of older material to consume and as Sparta and The Mars Volta spun out of their breakup, I soon found myself pretty obsessed with their output.

Napoleon Solo has always stood out to me as a track that simply felt important. The lyrics are abstract as normal for them, but with a little research you'll find it was in tribute to two friends who passed away at 17 in a car accident. The song really shows off the intensity that can come from losing someone close to you. One of my favorites from an incredibly influential band in my life.

Sort:  

You got a 6.93% upvote from @edensgarden courtesy of @iamevilradio!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63057.34
ETH 2546.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64