Song of the Day - Leaving Nashville by Charles Kelley

in #recordpool7 years ago

Country music is a genre that I grapple with frequently. On one hand, I love the sound of a slide guitar and the storytelling nature of the music itself. On the other hand, the popular version of the genre has slid away from the values that I love with songs that feel just as cynical and contrived as the most formulated pop music, often aping the 90s rap/club values that country music fans would often whine about when I was coming of age musically. Simply put, I love great country, but I don't hear much of it. 

The reason this song is my song of the day is because it puts into lyrics a concept that you don't ever hear on records which is the internal struggle that every musician has but the pursuit of that dream in spite of everything. It's an emotional ride and something that I think everyone who has been a musician can relate to on some level.

Personally, I think the lyrics are brilliant. "Pour your heart out in 3:20," the opening lyric might seem simple, but speaks instantly to the constraints of the current state of music where you have to fit your message into the time frame the radio allows. It's this theme of the internal struggle between doing what you love and doing what pays the bills that every artist has struggled with in some way. Despite being a techno musician, I often find myself thinking "Is this intro DJ friendly? Is this something that will work on a dancefloor?" It's instantly relate able despite being a completely different genre of music. 

The lyrics go on to address the self-serving nature of some of the relationships that you'll make. People who want you to write a song for them to rap or sing over and will essentially use you as a means to an end. While the euphoria of performing or the craziness of a great party might be wonderful, the chorus gives a brief moment of what it looks like when the lights dim and you are alone self medicating. It's heavy stuff dealt with a sense of subtlety that is extremely potent. 

One of the best moments comes from addressing the financial aspect. Often, when on stage everyone loves you, but the financial insecurity can take it's toll. The inconsistent nature of income means that the despite the adoration that comes from performing, you'll still watch people move forward with starting families and buying homes while you might loose everything writing and producing an album that no one will buy. This all ends in a final refrain of the title, never leaving Nashville meaning that you never give up of that desire to create because it is a part of you. That you stay with it for the highs and lows because you believe that it is worth it. 

The entire song is potent with an angle on music that really appeals to me. I'm very interested in seeing what other performers thing of the song. Let me know what you think below.  


Sort:  

I'm never gonna sell my bass guitar...
no, not gonna sell that thing
sit'n in the closet
hoping that I'll pick'er up and play,
again.

ah, such a sad song.
Those empty parking lots can sure get cold.
But then, the sadness is the answer...

I would not have come across something like this if you didn't share so thank you! what you wrote has a lot of truth though. I find myself grappling with that struggle but with my writing here on steemit. Something consistent vs. something you love. Seeing people pass you by financially is rough too but you just gotta have perspective and be happy for them. Keep doing what moves you. Great article and song man thanks!

It's true in any pursuit I think. I try and create a bit of a balance with what I post here as far as sharing music. One post that conforms to standard tastes and then something later that stretches the boundaries of a genre. It's a give and take. I'm trying to use this site in an authentic way but I think so many of us are conditioned to consider our "brand" when posting online. I'm lucky that I've never been financially insecure in making music and I've been able to support myself consistently with my job while making music. But I've done things like give up my portion of the door to the traveling band so they have money to get gas and food. This song when it pops into my head always gives me quite a bit to chew on. There is a lot of depth here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68394.30
ETH 2644.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69