Song of the Day - Ghosts by Japan

in #recordpool6 years ago

This song managed to worm it's way into my head over the course of the day. It's been an extremely busy day for me. Had to go into work for a minute despite being on vacation, shuttle my son around to a million appointments, take care of my bed ridden wife as she recovers from surgery, and prepare for my mom to fly in tomorrow so I can go back to work on Friday. It's been hectic and as normal, my music moods tend to pull me into the opposite of whatever is going on in my life at the moment which brings me to this rather peaceful and odd song that somehow managed to break into the UK Top 10 upon release in 1982. That seems insane to me as it is mostly minimal, completely stripped of drums, and mesmerizing rather than poppy. Most likely it rode a fascination with Nu-Wave from that time period, but either way it remains one of the strangest hit songs I've ever heard. There is a bit of dissonance in the noises at the beginning that could almost be described as ugly. Not exactly pop material. I first heard this on a LateNightTales mix from Air (one of my favorite French electronic groups) and I've even done a live show where I performed a remix of this (though I never released it). Oddest of all there is is a cover of this song by 90s Nu-Metal mainstays The Deftones that was released with their Diamond Eyes EP which I'll be adding here. Strange stuff.

Sort:  

You got a 5.83% upvote from @edensgarden courtesy of @iamevilradio!

Wild track! Haven't heard it before, but I really like it!

Wild! I love it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58254.01
ETH 2971.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89