You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Recordpool: Epic Classical Music Inspired By The Planets In Our Solar System

in #recordpool6 years ago

This is a wonderful read. My personal favourites have always been Jupiter and Mars, Holst's depth and power of composition is just wonderful and immortal. You can also hear a lot of Holst in John Williams, although I would argue that you could hear more Dvořák, Jerry Goldsmith, and Tchaikovsky, but I think Williams is just very good at covering it up - contrafaction just isn't the same if you get caught. I look forward to reading more, keep it up - more wine!

Sort:  

Thanks I'm glad you enjoyed it! I love all of them so much, Jupiter was the first one I loved right away. New favorites emerge every time I revisit it. I'm not familiar with the names of those composers you mentioned except John Williams of course. Do you have any good starting points for exploring their material? I can't wait to learn more we just have to get #classical-music tag on steemit up and running.

Of course - with respect to Dvořák, his 'The New World' Symphony (Symphony No.9) is a great start, you can hear more modern composers in there, composers such as J.Williams and Thomas Newman. Surprisingly you can also hear where Holst may have pinched a few motifs.
Second is Jerry Goldsmith, One of my favourite modern composers. He has done themes for films like The Mummy, Airforce one, Alien, and the TV Series Star Trek - Genius. If you want, what I would consider to be, his better use of the orchestra, I would listen to the Soundtrack for Masada- I wish I could write like that.
Tchaikovsky is synonymous with works like Swan Lake and The Nutcracker; if you have ever watched any cartoons, I guarantee you will recognise these from your childhood.

There are so many many many fantastic composers out there, young and old, you only need look for them. I hope this has gone some way in helping you to fall in love with some more music.

Oh yea I've heard Swan Lake and the Nutcracker, didn't know he was the guy behind it. Thanks for all the recommendations I'm going to check these out. And I also love Thomas Newman! The American Beauty Soundtrack is my all time favorite:)

I'm happy to have been of help. The American Beauty soundtrack is fantastic, although, I prefer his work on 'Meet Joe Black'. It's all subjective though. :)

If you're interested, I have written an article on some more Eastern European Orchestral music, and I will be writing about it more in the months to come. I may also cover some classical and Contemporary composers also - if you'll be interested...

esteem://music/@dantanner/the-music-of-communism-pervaya-chast

Keep up the writing, man, I look forward to reading more.

I red through your article very good! and some witty prose hahaha. The power of communism flows through me I have booked my ticket to Moscow after reading this. And thanks for the support man, I will keep posting about a variety of genres because there's so many types of great music that people should know about. I gave you a follow yesterday so I'll look forward to your posts as well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55425.80
ETH 2363.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34