You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A quick trick for finding frequencies to EQ in a mix

in #recording6 years ago (edited)

Cool, glad you found it helpful! Yeah, depending on the mix, and the sound you're working with, you may want to sweep a wide range. For example, stuff like snares & cymbals (or wah guitar, like you mentioned) can have a fair amount going on across the whole spectrum, and this can help you find areas where they might be either clashing with something, or taking up more space in a given frequency range than you want them to. Or the other way around, you may want to boost a certain area that's not coming through enough.

Personally, I don't always follow chord changes or anything like that, but it certainly is an option. More often, I use this to mellow out certain notes that may ring out more than others, if something sounds uneven.

Thanks for the comments/questions!

Sort:  

Thanks for the reply, I'm not much of a mixer, I can do ok with live sound, but always seem to struggle with recordings. I think I make everything sound like ACDC shook me all night long.... I used to tune speakers and car audio using that song....

You're welcome! Feel free to suggest subjects you'd like to see covered in future videos.

Do you have anything with boosting a solo a little without completely over powering a song.

Good idea! I'll work on that for the next one. I do have some tricks for this kind of thing. Thanks for the request. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60514.84
ETH 2575.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56