Obscure Audio Software (quickie) - Ocenaudio (freeware audio editor, Win)

in #recording5 years ago

This will be more of a quick recommendation than most OAS articles, as work on the upcoming Skin Contact album continues to keep me busy. :)

I'm not personally in the market for an audio editor, but I've been curious about what's out there in the freeware realm other than Audacity, which seems to be the go-to when people ask about such a thing. While Audacity is perfectly fine, I never really felt comfortable with it myself, so I'm guessing at least a few others feel the same way. Here's one alternative.

ocenscr2.jpg

Ocenaudio has all the basic stuff you'd expect, such as cut/copy/paste and other basic editing features, and some basic built-in effects. It also supports VST plug-ins, and you can tell it where to look. It operates more like a "classic" audio editor such as Sound Forge, which means it doesn't have the DAW-type multitracking of Audacity, but I don't consider that a problem.

Though relatively basic, it should serve the purpose for most, and if I didn't have this area covered already, I'd be giving it a serious look. If you're in the market for a free audio editor, I definitely think this is worth looking at.

Feel free to comment below, either about this article or Ocenaudio itself, or something else you think would make a good subject for a future Obscure Audio Software article.

Sort:  

Hello @fstateaudio

I used it sometimes.
I'm curious and I discovered it a couple of months ago. I don't explore it very much yet.

I use 3 Audio editors.
Mainly Acoustica.. Acoustica Basic Edition 6, a free version. It's a great one.
Sometimes Audacity for multitracks experiments, outside of a DAW. And some conversion K7 to mp3.
And Ocenaudio.

Right on. Yeah, I didn't explore it too deeply either, just enough to see that everything seems to work as it should. Seems pretty solid.

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62379.78
ETH 3034.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78